We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs a bit of make over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Very disappointed with our stay. Bed was so uncomfortable, having the electric blanket on straight under the sheet I have never come across in a hotel before. A lot of things in the room were really out dated compared to how modern the restaurant, and office. When I booked the picture of it was completely different to what we got. Housekeeping came in while I was still in shower and it was only bout 9-9.30am. NOT ON. Then also discovering I couldn't get my dryer to work on any of the hot points in the room, not to sure they hadn't been working. Have my doubts bout staying again

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy1562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManager0, Owner at Auto Lodge Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback with regards to you last visit with us. It is important we listen to what our guests are saying so that we can improve and meet the standards which are expected by our visitors. We are continually refurbishing rooms and I would invite you to request one of our new rooms if you wish to stay with us again.

Kind regards
Darrin Muggeridge
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Auto Lodge Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 171 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

the wendy and i spent 3 nights here stayed in the older part of the hotel small balcony out the front good for smokers i suppose, had a milk in the fridge thats all.Bathroom there was missing floor tiles stained and chipped panels above the shower , the ventilation didnt like mornings and the towels didnt like going around my fat guts! my fault that 1 aye. uncomfortable bed the room needs heavier curtains and housekeeping NEEDS to up there game would we stay here again? maybe.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aage0rge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were part of a family group staying here recently. A couple who were staying pulled back the sheets to find a large number of assorted hairs. The bed had not been changed since the last guests!! Luckily there was a spare room for them to transfer to. Our room was fine but one of the towels we were given had a hole in it, not very good for a superior room! No air con or fan. We ate breakfast in julianas. We both ordered the big breakfast. It was supposed to come with baked beans and handcut fries. No baked beans and no fries. Perhaps they think that deep frozen hash browns count as fries. The croissants as part of the continental were cold and dark brown. We would not stay here again

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed in a room witrh 'superior sea views'. The view was excellent but we were in the older part of the motel and had no cooking facilities. Overall however, the accommodation was fine, the restaurant excellent, the spa and swimming pool excellent and the room service excellent. I believe you can book a room overlooking the sea that has cooking facilities, but we were not offered that when we booked, so you will need to ask for it.

Room Tip: Make sure you check that the room has what you want in it.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

My first fist to New Zealand and to New Plymouth, a business trip for a week, Very good restaurant and excellent food and representation, average rooms, ok for a business trip, close to the beach walkway if end staying for the weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bilal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

The room I had didn't have a desk and chair just a coffee table and sofa chair.
At NZD 114 per night I think it's a bargain. Breakfast is not included; pretty good ala carte cooked ones bacon eggs at 17.50 to egg Benedict Salmon 19.00.
It's 10 to 15 minutes walk to the beach.
On day checkout taxi pre ordered to airport was done perhaps missed out due to shift change. Luckily I had planned for more time and taxi call came in 20 mins.It still should not happen.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolv3rin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I went there already twice in one month ! Great restaurant atmosphere and staff were very friendly. I have tried most of the restaurants in New Plymouth, the quality and service of food cannot be compared to anywhere else in NP. They have the range of foods available, I highly recommend the Chef Ricky's pork. The food was very delicious and well presented with a reasonable price. If you are in New Plymouth, you must visit ! It was a very enjoyable evening out. Can't wait to visit again :D

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JiYoon-Rachel-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManager0, Owner at Auto Lodge Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for dining with us and for taking the time to provide feedback of your experience. It is always a pleasure to meet and exceed our guest's expectations and we look forward to welcoming you again soon to the Auto lodge Motor Inn.
Kind regards
Darrin Muggeridge
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.6 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
161 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
0.2 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auto Lodge Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auto Lodge Motor Inn

Address: 393 Devon Street East, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range: $80 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auto Lodge Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auto Lodge Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing