We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and fresh but dark!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ASURE Abode on Courtenay
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We recently stayed for one night. The room was very clean and tidy but in living area all lightbulbs bar one have been taken out making it very dim especially in the morning in the kitchette area where although a light shade, no bulb in it meant having to open curtains to be able see to make coffee. Reception was friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 87 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

My first stay here. I was greeted by the new owners and immediately made to feel very welcome. Comfortable rooms. A little bit of traffic noise from around 6am, but not excessive for a main road. My only complaint was the cleaner letting herself in at 9am. (She was very apologetic and explained that she was still learning.) The only reason it made me cranky was because the same thing had happened at a different motel the day before!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We arrived late last night and were accommodated with a special rate as well. The owners have only had it for 7 weeks but they're doing well so far!

Possibly one of the most comfortable beds we've slept in here in new Zealand. The bath is big and comfortable and the whole suite was clean and tidy. There was plenty of storage space and good lighting.

We would definitely stay again whenever we visit new Plymouth and you should too.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foodiefanclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed one night here whilst I was in New Plymouth on business. The room was very nice with a crisp, modern feel and a friendly welcome at reception.
Bed was comfortable, everything worked as it should and it was just a short stroll to the sea and also to shops and town.
I had breakfast there in the morning and to be honest felt that it did not live up to the price tag but there are plenty of other options close by if you are fussy like me.
Overall a very comfortable and welcoming place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oncebitten50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed in a room which had rfecently been converted to suit wheelchairs, with a large accessible bathroom. Despite this effort there was a strange lip at the front door which I imagine would be a problem for wheels, and the microwave oven was quite high and would be out of reach. Rooms fairly bland, but functional. Gary and his partner were friendy and were very helpful when we left something behind - he contacted us immediately and went out of his way to mail it to us.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TassieDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gogaza, Owner at ASURE Abode on Courtenay, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2012

Thanks for the review,

I need to point out that the unit is a purpose built from new access unit that meets all the relevant codes, not a recent conversion.

We have had good comments from guests with disabilities that have stayed in this unit.

Good to hear that the returned items arrived safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Very nice, clean and modern motel.Facilities with sky T.V. and a heat pump made for a warm night.The host Gary was helpful and friendly.Situated close to the city center and not far to the beach makes it ideal for overnight or longer stays.

Room Tip: Upstairs is always better than downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank len a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Excellent location - you can walk to supermarkets, restaurants, board walk along the sea, main shopping etc, clean, decor is very tastful, exellent comfy beds & friendly hosts. We had a great stay over Easter. Appreciated the plunger coffee :-) Will be revisiting for sure.

Room Tip: Ground floor & upper floor accommodation - we were in one of the two access rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
#13 of 30 in New Plymouth
180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
245 reviews
3.1 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
288 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Abode on Courtenay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Abode on Courtenay

Address: 155 Courtenay Street | PO Box 8058, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand (Formerly Abode on Courtenay Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range: $87 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Abode on Courtenay 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASURE Abode on Courtenay Motor Inn offers 4 star, spacious New Plymouth motel accommodation. Our central New Plymouth Motel location makes us ideal for business/corporate and leisure travellers alike. We offer only the best in motel facilities and motel accommodation, and take great pride in our attention to detail. Whether you are travelling alone, as a couple, or with family or friends, ASURE Abode on Courtenay Motor Inn has quality New Plymouth accommodation options to suit everyone's budget. All of our 21 modern self contained and fully serviced motel suites come equipped with kitchenette, ensuite bathroom, 32" LCD TV with Sky Guest Select, Soho and MySky, Free Wifi*, double glazing and air conditioning to ensure your enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your ASURE Abode on Courtenay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing