We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best date night EVER!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
King and Queen Hotel Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
1 review
“Best date night EVER!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Spontaneously we decided to stay at the King & Queen as part of our date night. The staff were very friendly & helpful. We loved the personal note & chocolate awaiting our arrival - very nice touch. It's the best room we have ever stayed in. From the room layout to the high quality furnishings and as many other people are also saying, it was the little things that had been thought of & supplied that really blew us away. A really luxurious stay, we can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Tania

Thank you for your kind words.

We are happy to hear that you had a great experience staying with us for your date night. It's a great way to spoil yourself and have a well deserved break.

The team enjoys getting to know our guests and especially providing them with a warm welcome to the hotel. We pride ourselves in making sure that everyone is well looked after.

We are looking forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Best regards,

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    18
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
180
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is a rare gem and is worth splashing out on. Purchased as a gift for my husband for a night away from home it felt like a real treat. Delivered on boutique and luxury. Loved the L'occitane bathroom products and high quality teas and coffees. Having a comfy couch to laze around on was great. It has top quality linens and furnishings. the slightly hidden suitcase area was great to be able to hide your clothes. The tiled bathroom is lovely with the walk in shower. But the highlight for me was having a separate toilet room! (It goes without saying why) :). Staff were very friendly and welcoming, nice treat to be shown to your room. We had a lovely platter of food at the snug lounge and the breakfast at the gallery cafe was as outstanding as always. When the new gallery is finished this area of town will be the Europe of the Naki.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clippedwings2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear clippedwings2,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your mini-break.
The hotel has been a popular choice for locals as it gives people a chance to relax even though they do not have to travel far.
We are also happy to hear that you had a great experience at Snug Lounge and Cafe Govett Brewster as we love having an affiliation with them.

As you said, the small little touches definitely make a hotel stay extra special and we do our best to provide guests with a wonderful experience.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bell Block, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

From the welcome to when we departed my wife and I were so impressed with King and Queen. The room was stunning with everything one needs supplied. The bathroom was spacious with an awesome shower. Small touches like the heated mirror in the bathroom are common. The bed was a super king - very comfortable. The decor is modern and chic. All in all we were both impressed and happy with our stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Bruce

I am pleased to hear that you had a fantastic stay at our new hotel. We pride ourselves on the little touches which really do make a difference.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntly, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We just came back yesterday from a short visit to New Plymouth and stayed at K n Q- absolutely amazing!!!
This hotel is truly a 5 star experience- design, space, comfort, colors- superb! But the real difference are in the "little" things- like fabrics, fittings, the choice of coffees and teas and many other touches- we were amazed.
Topped with friendliness coming from the heart while making the booking over the phone, at reception on arrival and departure made our stay perfect in all aspects.
Highly recommended and this is the place to stay!!!!
Thank you:-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connieroulston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Connie

Thank you for your positive review. We pride ourselves not only on an amazing hotel but also on all of the little touches which make a stay so special.

Our team take great pride in what they do and are very genuine, I will pass on the excellent feedback to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our brand new hotel in the future.

Best regards
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our stay at King and Queens Suites was nothing less than superb. I cannot recommend more !! It is in a great location, quiet, and VERY well appointed.
We will most certainly be back. Our booking was at short notice (day before) because of another local hotel bumping our booking, and I think we were privileged to be accepted.
The quality of the rooms matched that of any 5 start hotel we have stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear dennis957

Thank you for the amazing review. The team and I are so pleased that we exceeded your expectations and are worthy of a 5 star rating!

The hotel has been well designed and the furnishings are superb with pieces from all over Europe and Morocco.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were given this recommendation from a Grabone deal. Because we travelled to the 'Naki late on a Friday afternoon, we rang ahead to inform the front desk that we would be late arriving. This was not a problem. When we eventually arrived later than expected, the lovely host had stayed late to welcome us. We were then offered the best service I have experienced and I have been to alot of different countries and cities. The rooms are awesome and cannot be faulted. Kid-friendly was also appreciated and the location is also a plus. Well done K n Q...we will recommend highly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayzor54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Rayzor54

Thank you for recommending the King & Queen Hotel Suites.
I am glad that our young team looked after you so well, they take great pride in what they do and certainly strive to create a 'home away from home'.
I am also pleased that the children felt welcome as we do try to be a family friendly hotel, as well as being appealing to our corporate and other leisure based guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turangi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the Queen Victoria Suite - the room was spacious which we appreciated staying with our three year old daughter - a great living space - covered terrace area - huge king sized bed (very comfy) - Ozone plunger coffee - great bathroom - the hotel with its court yard leading onto the Ozone coffee roasters landing creates a European experience and provides a great lazy coffee start to your morning - the hotel represents exceptional value for money considering the level of experience delivered - we will certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Luke

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed staying in our spacious Queen Victoria Suite and that you made the most of Ozone Coffee Roasters in the centre of the hotel. This place is well used by guests, and staff, alike.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the king & Queen in the future.

Best regards
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
232 reviews
0.5 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
281 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King and Queen Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King and Queen Hotel Suites

Property: King and Queen Hotel Suites
Address: Corner of King and Queen Streets, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — King and Queen Hotel Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to New Plymouth's leading luxury boutique hotel. Located in the CBD and cultural and arts hub of New Plymouth, close to the best restaurants and bars. Exquisite European and Moroccan furnishings, sea views, private balconies, unique local artwork, secure car parking, complimentary internet and kitchenettes help to create your ultimate getaway whether that be for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your King and Queen Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing