We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hosking House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The State Hotel(New Plymouth)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asure Saddle and Sulky Motor Lodge(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
$64
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzroy Beach Motel(New Plymouth)
$111
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
16 Northgate Motor Lodge(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
$84
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Lockwood Manor Motel(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
$99
$95
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nice Hotel & Table(New Plymouth)
$123
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveler rating
114
8
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
8
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast roompukekura parkb blondon suitelovely villarenovated villahot cross bunsrestaurant recommendationsbathroom toiletriesgreat boutiquebeautifully appointed roomsgracious hostsan absolute pleasureshared loungebreakfast was deliciouscare and attentiona wonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 124 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is not your mother's B&B! It is beautifully done in tasteful quality. The hosts are exceptionally nice. The rooms are quite comfortable and the house is a comfortable walk from town, where it's easier not to have a car. And it is quite close to an absolutely beautiful park. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Hosking House and New Plymouth, a wonderful town!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank in2details
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelChurch, Owner at Hosking House, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

We are delighted to read your review and hear your thoughts about New Plymouth and the House. We love living in this city and it's wonderful to hear of others feeling the same way. Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I would highly recommend staying at Hosking House. The owners couldn't be nicer and their service is exceptional - discreet but always there when you need it. The rooms are large, well furnished and the beds are super comfortable. The location is great. Hosking House is a worthy successor to the much loved Issey Manor.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haggis_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelChurch, Owner at Hosking House, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thanks so much for your feedback. Issey Manor was our standard of excellence that we tried to match. Kevin and Chris truly helped us create our own vision for both the House and our service and we are delighted that in their absence that we are making our own go of it. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to get the chance to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed in the New York suite and had an amazing time. This B&B has been finished to a very high standard and the design and decor is very stylish. The hosts Rachel and Rodney are very friendly, breakfasts were lovely and their suggestions on where to go and what to see in New Plymouth were all lapped up. Would definitely stay here again, though I think it's going to get harder and harder to get a booking as the word on this great B&B leaks out!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelChurch, Owner at Hosking House, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we truly wish to welcome you back to the House some day soon! Cheers! Rachel & Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We spent 3nights in New Plymouth escaping the 7 s in Wellington, We foundHoskin House on line . It looked good. It proved to be even better. The hosts could not do enough for us. They booked our golf and restaurants for us..We highly recommend this boutique b&b. We shall return

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelChurch, Owner at Hosking House, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us, and share your thoughts about Hosking House. It was our pleasure to host you during your stay, and we just love seeing people taking advantage of some of the great golf courses in Taranaki! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at this relatively new B&B (been operating for about 12 months +). Rodney and Rachel have done an absolutely fantastic job in renovating this beautiful house. We stayed in the Taranaki room, but could have stayed in any of the others.

The attention to detail is unbelievable - the picnic blanket, umbrellas, ear plugs, etc!

Got some great ideas for our new house - Rodney even got the measuring tape out for my husband!

Rodney was spot on with his recommendation when it was raining, and we got to see the blanket lift of Mt Taranaki just as he suggested - so glad we followed your advice.

The house is situated in a great location - walking distance to restaurants, and next door to Pukekura park - one of the most stunning places to walk.

New Plymouth has got so much to over, we were disappointed that we did not stay longer. Also did a trip with Heliview - another must - have posted a separate review.

So many people have stayed in this beautiful house and the guest book is full of glowing comments - a pity that they are not copied on trip advisor, as this house deserves more than just 14 excellent reviews.

All the best Rachel and Rodney, and thanks again for a wonderful stay. Regards, Andre, Elma & Taryn

Room Tip: We stayed in the Taranaki room with our 10 year old daughter.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AETL2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelChurch, Owner at Hosking House, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thank you so very much for your kind review and for taking the time to share your thoughts about your experience! We are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay - it was lovely to meet you and your family and our true honor to take care of you and the details of your stay! Cheers, Rachel & Rodney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews