We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exploring and relaxation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hosking House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hosking House
Ranked #3 of 24 New Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exploring and relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Decided to explore New Plymouth on the spur of the moment , what a find.
First time I have stayed in a boutique accommodation and would definitely do so again.
Centrally situated so was able to leave the car , great after a long drive and walk through the parks , shops and along the city boardwalk .....all so enjoyable . Best of all able to enjoy a cup of tea when I got looking out on to a beautiful garden ( was nearly tempted by the selection of wines )
Wonderful ;))
Thanks
Rachel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank When_we_got_there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelChurch, Owner at Hosking House, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
So wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay - and time in New Plymouth. We love hearing when people discover the joys of this great city and region. We hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
64
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hosking House is lovely and Rodney and Rachel are such wonderful hosts that we almost want to keep this a secret. Much thought has gone into developing their gorgeous villa and accommodation with great attention to detail for guest comfort. Delicious breakfasts and the many personal touches were appreciated. It's easy to walk to New Plymouth's CBD, coast walkway and attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelChurch, Owner at Hosking House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thanks so very much for sharing your thoughts. We are so glad you found us, and were very happy to welcome you to Hosking House and New Plymouth. Many, many thanks, Rachel & Rodney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I decided on a weekend out of Wellington to celebrate hubbies birthday and Hosking House was the perfect venue for our weekend away. You could tell this was going to be a wonderful place to stay from the moment that Rachel made contact and asked if she could help with suggestions and recommendations. This level of service was continued throughout our stay. Rachel and Rodney were lovely hosts, nothing was too much of a problem. Loved the suggestions that they made for lunch and dinner. Hosking House is gorgeously decorated throughout. We stayed in the London Suite & when we arrived the room was heated for our arrival (these are the small touches that make a guest happy). My only regret was not getting to soak in the bath, which looked so inviting (I ran out of time). Loved the breakfasts, and oh my if you can try the winter porridge it is divine! The cooked breakfasts are hearty & filling and meant we would have a late lunch as we were still full from breakfast. Loved that the food was locally sourced from the fresh herbs from the garden to the locally sourced eggs. We loved our stay at Hosking House and will share this gem with friends and family needing a place to stay in New Plymouth.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelChurch, Owner at Hosking House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so very much! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback. Our true pleasure to host you and so very glad that you enjoyed your stay! Cheers, Rachel & Rodney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Decided on a new location for a special birthday treat. Found Hosking House through web. Looked great on web page and lived up to site on arrival. Mine hosts are new to the business all though you would see them as seasoned professionals. From first meeting this felt and delivered like a friends home. We had the New York Room which for a couple was more than adequate with a well appointed feel to it. The special touches that go with Hosking House were really noted and appreciated, chocolates by your bed, complimentary port for after dinner and lets not forget the breakfasts. Home made bread, family produced eggs and herbs from the garden where you can watch Rachel accompanied by Weston, picking them from the breakfast room. Rodney says he is only the caretaker but these two enjoy the team work of making you feel special with nothing being missed to ensure you know all about Taranaki and what it has to offer. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelChurch, Owner at Hosking House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your kind words. It was truly our pleasure to host you as guests and as 'newbies' at this your kindness means a lot. We hope to get the chance again in the future! Cheers, Rachel & Rodney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed in the Taranaki suite for a couple of days while working in New Plymouth. Such a pity it was not for a romantic weekend away because it would have been perfect. Hosts were wonderful and the rooms were impeccably decorated. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelChurch, Owner at Hosking House, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We are so glad we were able to host you during a work trip. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. Very appreciated! Rachel & Rondey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We got an excellent reception and Rodney and Rachel could not have been more helpful. They forwarded us very useful information on New Plymouth and offered to organise transport for us to the rugby. The room was well appointed and very comfortable and breakfast, in a private lounge, was either cooked or continental and of excellent standard. They made us feel most welcome and we would recommend this to anyone looking for superior quality.

Room Tip: Any of the three rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelChurch, Owner at Hosking House, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Hosking House. We truly appreciate the support and reviews like this mean the world to us. Cheers! Rachel & Rodney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at Hosking House with friends on a child-free weekend to celebrate one of us hitting the big four-O and it was amazing. Absolutely stunning rooms in a beautiful setting with lots of attention to the small details which go above and beyond expectations. Rachel and Rodney were the perfect hosts and made us feel so welcome and very indulged. Delicious breakfast, luxurious toiletries, beautiful bed linen, funky bathrooms, nice coffee, quiet location, the list goes on! Wish we could have stayed longer and definitely hope to be back. It would have been great to spend more time there and try the woodfired pizza which sounded delicious. Plus some really cool stuff to see and do in New Plymouth, all made for a fantastic time away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balsamickiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelChurch, Owner at Hosking House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write and review your stay with us! It is so wonderful to hear that Hosking House ticked all the boxes for your weekend away. We were truly delighted to welcome you and play just a small part in your celebration! Cheers and thanks again - Rachel & Rodney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.4 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dawson Motel
The Dawson Motel
#4 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Airlie House
Airlie House
#4 of 24 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosking House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosking House

Property: Hosking House
Address: 1 Victoria Road, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hosking House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its period architecture, luxuriously appointed suites, extensive gardens, warm hospitality, and locally sourced food and wine, guests of Hosking House will immediately feel the benefits of being pampered in this unique boutique setting. Located in the Central Business District, (CBD) of New Plymouth, Hosking House benefits from all this dynamic city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hosking House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing