We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior all round.”
Review of Hosking House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hosking House
Ranked #2 of 24 New Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Havelock North
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Superior all round.”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We got an excellent reception and Rodney and Rachel could not have been more helpful. They forwarded us very useful information on New Plymouth and offered to organise transport for us to the rugby. The room was well appointed and very comfortable and breakfast, in a private lounge, was either cooked or continental and of excellent standard. They made us feel most welcome and we would recommend this to anyone looking for superior quality.

Room Tip: Any of the three rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelChurch, Owner at Hosking House, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Hosking House. We truly appreciate the support and reviews like this mean the world to us. Cheers! Rachel & Rodney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
67
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at Hosking House with friends on a child-free weekend to celebrate one of us hitting the big four-O and it was amazing. Absolutely stunning rooms in a beautiful setting with lots of attention to the small details which go above and beyond expectations. Rachel and Rodney were the perfect hosts and made us feel so welcome and very indulged. Delicious breakfast, luxurious toiletries, beautiful bed linen, funky bathrooms, nice coffee, quiet location, the list goes on! Wish we could have stayed longer and definitely hope to be back. It would have been great to spend more time there and try the woodfired pizza which sounded delicious. Plus some really cool stuff to see and do in New Plymouth, all made for a fantastic time away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balsamickiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelChurch, Owner at Hosking House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write and review your stay with us! It is so wonderful to hear that Hosking House ticked all the boxes for your weekend away. We were truly delighted to welcome you and play just a small part in your celebration! Cheers and thanks again - Rachel & Rodney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Wow... What a fabulous boutique B & B. the hosts were very obliging in every way to make a long weekend perfect for us... Nothing was to much trouble for the hosts and made us very welcome with plenty of local knowledge of what to do for a relaxing weekend! Breakfast perfect! I would highly recommend Hosking House. My husband had been working hideous hours as needed a bit of time out and R & R, this was defiantly the place to do it!! Highly recommend Hosking House ....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelChurch, Owner at Hosking House, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review Hosking House. As a small business, feedback is so very important to us. Many, many thanks! Rachel & Rodney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawera, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is a highly recommended luxury accommodation , within easy access to the CBD and has personal service from the owners. The décor is first class with top of the range products. Breakfast was great, served by the ever pleasing, smiling hosts. Was my better half`s birthday and it was every bit the memorable, special occasion the weekend was intended to be. We have stayed in many motels/hotels all over the north island...this one is second to none!
Congratulations for a successful vision!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelChurch, Owner at Hosking House, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Hearing that our guests are happy is what it is all about for us! So glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope to be able to welcome you again to New Plymouth and Hosking House. Cheers, Rachel & Rodney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokoroa, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I would recommend Hosking house to anybody looking for a special occasion away, beautiful caring hosts ,an enthusiatic young couple whom making there guests welcome and comfortable was there first aim. Very high quality products and food was provided

Room Tip: We looked at all there rooms they all looked very cosy and inviting, made to make you feel special
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelChurch, Owner at Hosking House, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you so much Ann. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you again to Hosking House in the future. Many thanks - Rachel & Rodney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nice Hotel & Bistro
Nice Hotel & Bistro
#12 of 30 in New Plymouth
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
218 reviews
0.4 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosking House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosking House

Property: Hosking House
Address: 1 Victoria Road, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hosking House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its period architecture, luxuriously appointed suites, extensive gardens, warm hospitality, and locally sourced food and wine, guests of Hosking House will immediately feel the benefits of being pampered in this unique boutique setting. Located in the Central Business District, (CBD) of New Plymouth, Hosking House benefits from all this dynamic city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hosking House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing