We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous free resource!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brooklands Zoo

Brooklands Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Brooklands Zoo is a FREE, family focused zoo which is home to a variety of farmyard animals, amphibians, reptiles, oriental small-clawed otters, meerkats, a brolga, Bolivian squirrel monkeys and both capuchin and cotton-top tamarin monkeys, as well as a selection of exotic parrots housed inside a walk-through free-flight aviary.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A fabulous free resource!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Having not been here before, I was a little skeptical as to how good a 'free zoo' could be. I was very pleasantly surprised & impressed!

There are not a lot of animals like you would expect at big zoos, but a good selection to keep kids entertained. They range from reptiles, farm animals, birds, meerkats & a number of different breeds of monkeys. The enclosures were very well maintained & had interesting accompanying facts for each animal. We (3 adults) spent about 1.5 hours in total going around all the animals.

There is also a decent sized playground for the kids & even a coffee cart for the adults.

Although this zoo is free, they accept donations - this zoo is very deserving of a donation - here's hoping it can be maintained like this for generations to come!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NZJayDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    78
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We took to the zoo to kill some time and i am glad we did. This place is awesome. We had some interactions with the animals and me parents loved it. Great family atmosphere and lot of photo taking opportunities

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic with little ones”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Free!! Children loved running around and with a lovely park next door can't go wrong. Great for 10 minutes or 2 hours!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kellyjoanne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a Great Asset!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

The whole family thoroughly enjoyed our visit to this Zoo. We look a leisurely walk through the gardens to get here and the scenery was spectacular. The zoo itself offered close up opportunities to see the animals in well maintained enclosures. The fact that all of this is offered for free makes this a wonderful asset for New Plymouth & I would recommend it to all visitors.

Helpful?
Thank BringOnTheFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The kids love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Secure area for kids to play. Farm animals, monkeys, otters, birds....a great place for a picnic and letting the kids run off some steam.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brooklands Zoo also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Brooklands Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing