We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden wonderland”
Review of Pouakai Zoo

Pouakai Zoo
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden wonderland”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We found this gem on the web and was pleasantly surprised. Be sure to go during lion and tiger feeding times - an informative talk is added. Take as long as you like to wonder around, you won't get lost as its not very big, however a great variety of animals.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    19
    10
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waitara
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Xmas with the grandkids”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

When you are stuck for ideas to keep your under 6's entertained try Pouakai Zoo - its a bit of a trek but make it a mystery journey as I did and you will be pleasantly surprised that it fits that kind of description - because it wasn't at all as basic as I thought it would be...nice staff, easy access, good facilities...a nice way to capture family memories.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Redheaded2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great fun”
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

We went here in Dec 2009 - so much fun for all ages - very down to earth - animals see happy and healthy - would go back for sure :)

Helpful?
Thank springcleaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice smaller zoo,and pretty good fun.”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We did a spur of the moment trip out to this zoo (15 minute drive from town)and we were all really surprised how cool it was. Within 2 minutes of arriving at the entrance we were holding beautiful lizards! The zoo owners are really down to earth, chatty people that love animals.

Adults and kids alike in our group all had a great time... monkeys, tigers, lions, goats, birds wandering around in a rustic setting.

Thinking back to our 3 days in New Plymouth visiting this zoo was my favourite thing.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rangitane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inglewood, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great family day where you can get up close with the animals”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Much more friendly than the bigger zoos - and sonehow that helps you feel you are getting closer to the animals. My kids love it and I do too... just typing this i am thinking it is time to head back there soon :)...they have got white royal bengal tigers since our past trip

Helpful?
Thank jeanettewilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pouakai Zoo also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Pouakai Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing