We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keep coming back”
Review of Kathakali

Kathakali
Ranked #6 of 164 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: New restaurant
Hawera, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Keep coming back”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Had another visit to this restaurant and was once again pleased to report that the food and service are still at a very high standard. Surprisingly it was not very busy when we were there so we got very personal attention. Decided to try a few new items on the menu and were pleasantly surprised. The doughnut starters were a pleasant surprise. Will definitely be visiting here again

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dec S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    83
    8
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“The best in many a long year..”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We were introduced to this restaurant some months back and come back every time we visit New Plymouth.
The prices are extremely reasonable, the service is informed, considerate and charming and the food is out of this world.
If you want the usual menu that you could find anywhere else you will be disappointed; this place is imaginative and specialised. Try the dhosa, try the paratha and anything on the menu - it's all astonishing.
New Plymouth people have yet to patronise it to the degree it deserves so you can still just turn up, but go now.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon_Bennett_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food and great service.”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We came here when visiting New Plymouth for the weekend. We turned up at 9pm with our 10 year old son and were warmly greeted. The food is fantastic, it was our son's first taste of indian food and he loved it. The dosa are fabulous, the chicken 65 was great (his favourites). All our meals were full of flavour with just the right amount of heat. Service was friendly and helpful and we will definitely go back next time we are on that side of the island. A lovely meal out. Prices were good value.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank antipodeannz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
345 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

It's tasty and with nice Indian deco inside. There's nothing grilled or tandoori baked on the menu, it's all curries and fried food, but if you like creamy that's a good place. Good service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Granduelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Southern Indian food and hospitality”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Great Indian food without the usual range. If you want to try something a little different, if you enjoy being well looked after and you dont want to burn a hole in your pocket, Kathakali is the place to be. You must have Masala Dosa, try it as a starter or share it, it's a must eat item.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JodiWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kathakali also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Kathakali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing