We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian food at its best!”
Review of Kathakali

Kathakali
Ranked #6 of 167 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: New restaurant
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Indian food at its best!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Wow! What an experience...the explosion of flavour in their dishes! Now I know what everyone who's been here before is raving about. This little restaurant is ironically found directly opposite India Today, but is far from the westernized food they serve there. We were at first reluctant in taking our children (9yrs & 15yrs) as the only Indian cuisine they knew was butter chicken. No cause for concern here, not only were we pleasantly surprised with flavoursome food and generous portions, we found it was real value too. Everyone left with a favourite, Chicken 65, Masala Dosa, Chettinadu and Lamb Mappas. Staff were attentive and friendly, always taking the time to answer any questions about the menu. A lovely evening and we shall return again soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Ehlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    84
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The food here is as others have stated different than the usual fare and although I am no expert it seemed the most authentic we have had in NZ.
The portions were generous and although a small but select menu the seasoning is delicate rather than just sheer heat. It has nice decor and service was excellent and very friendly. We ate twice here over the week and were very satisfied with no indigestion afterwards!
Although I've rated it as more formal dining value wise it was excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shleepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Consistently ahead of the rest”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I am not a fan of the oily , uniform, westernised fair that one so often gets at Indian restaurants.

Well we have a real gem here in New Plymouth. Kathakali food is different. The dishes are diverse ( no butter chicken here ! ), interesting and consistently good.

I have a hard time passing up on the dosa so we often share one to start so we can have that and another of the wonderful options.

They do take aways and lunches too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank woodgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Very good food. I saw this in a review and I thought I give it a try. You will tend to miss it if you walk down Devon st but if you go thought a doorway and go up stairs you will find friendly staff, lots of seating and great southern Indian food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Best Indian Food”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Went to this restaurant after reading reviews here & I can go ahead & say its the best Indian restaurant here.Walking for Devon Street you will tend to miss it.Food is excellent.Service is also brilliant.They know their South Indian food. Ambiance is lovely though the music is a little irritating.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AaronNunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kathakali also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Kathakali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing