We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely getaway”
Review of Tivoli Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tivoli Homestay
Ranked #1 of 24 New Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coromandel, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely getaway”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Andre and Jan's home is immaculately decorated and spotless. It has the best location in New Plymouth - perched above the city with views of everything. Even their dog is a gentleman. Breakfast is an incomparable affair. Everything you can imagine is spread out on the table. They can't do enough for you. The room includes wine, beer, coffee and tea, as well as tasty sweets "under glass". Twin showers are a great way to start the day. Each evening they invited us to share a glass of wine, and we chatted about Africa and travels around the world.
Overall an unforgettable time away we look forward to repeating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidAndRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre F, Owner at Tivoli Homestay, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
It gives us great pleasure to hear you enjoyed the decoration, location, views, the gentleman doggie, breakfast and twin showers! And a glass of wine is perfect to get to know our valued guests. Always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
69
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Unfortunately we only staid for one night in Tivoli homestay but it was a great night! Andre and Jan were very welcoming and the room was super. The breakfast was more than enough and with everything you can wish for. The location is really lovely with views to the sea, mount Terenaki and over New Plymouth. The only worry we had was to share the bathroom but eventually there was nobody else and the bathroom is so nice that it would be a shame to have your own but much smaller one. Thank you very much Andre and Jan!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Annelise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre F, Owner at Tivoli Homestay, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
It was great to have met you and share our place with you. You are welcome to come back for more breakfasts, views and everything this place offers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hospitality and standards offered at/by the hosts at Tivoli Homestay are second to none. I cannot imagine a better place to stay.

Jan and Andre are great hosts. It was so lovely to meet them. I did so appreciate the opportunity to share their lovely home. The views, decor, hospitality, company and kindness are just what what I when travelling or on holiday. The bed and breakfast were a dream. I

Jan and Andree we cannot thank you enough. Take care and see you when we next travel to New Plymouth

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre F, Owner at Tivoli Homestay, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
It was only a pleasure to have been able to share our place with you and very glad you enjoyed all of it.
Always welcome to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our tivoli stay was everything we expected and much more. Jan and Andre were caring and attentive hosts who made us feel at home and comfortable for the duration of our stay. Jan and Andre gave fantastic advice on local attractions and were able to arrange a few last minute bookings for us. We were spoilt for choice when it came to the gormet breakfast we received which was absolutely delicious. The home is gorgeous with beautiful views of mt taranaki, the city, the ocean and mt ruapehu on a clear day. I would recommend tivoli for anyone who wants luxurious accomadation in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmsPJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre F, Owner at Tivoli Homestay, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are happy you felt at home and comfortable and enjoyed what Tivoli Homestay has to offer. Only happy to make suggestions on what New Plymouth has to offer. Also happy you enjoyed the breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

It was our first experience of homestay. Beautiful home, delicious wine before bedding, wonderful breakfast and friendly hosts. It was our best holiday in New Zealand so far. Thank you Jan and André!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zerkms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre F, Owner at Tivoli Homestay, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your first experience of a homestay, hopefully many more! It was our pleasure to have been your hosts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

A great place to stay in N.P. for business travelers. Probably the the best one I ve ever had there as a frequent traveler.
Nice location, beautiful views, friendly host, cute garden, and a cup of drink before bedding. Everthing is good

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Georgezhao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre F, Owner at Tivoli Homestay, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and different things on offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed the weekend the All Blacks played France at the end of June 2013. We stayed for two nights in the Asia-themed room. The bed was a knock out! After a two-week tour of the North Island we were a little tired after sleeping on so many beds that were more bouncy-castle than sleep-conducive. It was wonderfully firm and relaxing and we slept the sleep of the just. There was good storage and wardrobe space as well as a welcome bar-fridge and a TV. Because we are of the age where we need the bathroom during the night, we were a little concerned at not having an en-suite but this ended up not being a problem as the luxuriously appointed (separate) toilet and bathroom were just across the corridor - the bathroom was a temple of comfort with heated floor tiles, a large bath and double shower-heads and large fluffy towels kept inviting on a heated towel rail. The home stay is situated in a house designed by one of NZ's outstanding and iconic architects and around every corner are large windows maximising the astonishing views. The house has a little magic in its design which is intriguing yet peaceful. And the garden is a beautiful haven adorned by the hosts' wonderfully exotic birds - on a very small scale, the set-up has echoes of the palaces of indulgent Indian princes who make it their business to combine beauty and peace. While the physical aspects of the property are utterly delightful they pale in comparison to the outstanding attention to detail and guest comfort provided by the hosts. Andre and Jan are unstinting in their dedication to lavishing guests with generous, extensive and hearty breakfasts as well as thoughtful conversation and help. Very many home stays can be ruined by hosts who are a tad mean. Andre and Jan are the polar opposite. They are extremely generous and open-hearted - they are wonderful. They are, without doubt, the most kind-hearted and thoughtful hosts we have encountered and we are now wracking our brains for excuses to return. It was a truly wonderful experience and only a fool would disagree.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre F, Owner at Tivoli Homestay, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
It was only a pleasure to have you as our guests and provide you with some comfort while on holiday. So good to hear you enjoyed the sleeping experience, the bathroom facilities, the property design and us as hosts; always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
2.2 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
236 reviews
2.2 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
309 reviews
2.7 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
223 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hosking House
Hosking House
#2 of 24 in New Plymouth
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Homestay

Property: Tivoli Homestay
Address: 22 Scott Street | Moturoa, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tivoli Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique 5-level house, designed by Roger Walker to achieve maximum views of the surrounding areas, was built in 1973. A spa-pool overlooking the garden is available - perfect for relaxation after a day’s activities. Enjoy a drink on the deck overlooking the port and the city of New Plymouth, or relax in the turret with a beautiful 360° view of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tivoli Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing