We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the 21st Century...”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“In the 21st Century...”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Any hotel (especially a 'luxury' boutique hotel) that charges $29 per day for internet does not deserve any rating beyond "poor"... It's ridiculous and a shameless money grab... The worst part is thier misleading adverts where they tell you they give you a free 30MB or one hour of internet, which I thought was fine, but the hour runs from the moment you log on, so you'll need to pay up for the $29 per 24hours - a bit of a scam.

Beyond that, it's a nice hotel, though not worth the $250 per night website rate... Think Hoilday Inn across the street from the beach... I paid $160 p/n via booking.com and that's about the ceiling I'd recommend (for the standard queen studio)... There's no bells and whistles to really separate it from the nicer motels you find in NZ...

The food at Salt is quite good.

Room Tip: Rooms face a parking lot with no terrace (teeny tiny) or they face the street w/ terrace, thus might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. The one hour complimentary internet access that we offer is 30mb, this is generally enough for guests to check their emails, have a look on Facebook or browse the internet. The 30mb or one hour counts down while you are using the internet to enable you to see how much data or time you have remaining. We also have other pricing plans available, hopefully you will stay with us again and we can go through all the options with you and assist with which is best suited to your requirements in regards to megabyte usage and time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    81
    13
    10
    6
See reviews for
25
107
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
139 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

we have just returned from another stay at this property! We had the penthouse suite again and it is stunning, well furnished, and really lacking nothing. Ease of parking, helpful staff and stunning views made the visit memorable. Other family members had a superior unit and they were also pleased!

Room Tip: double glazing would help for noise., as even with windows closed could still here the trucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clinton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. Our Penthouse Suites really are amazing! We hope to have you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had an unplanned stay here for one night when our flight from New Plymouth to Wellington was cancelled due to bad weather. A very nice room of a good size, we slept well after a delicious meal in Salt restaurant, sitting by the window watching the rain and fog roll in from the ocean. Staff were very pleasant and we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. It was unfortunate last weeks weather disrupted a lot of peoples travel plans, however it sounds like you had a lovely stay with us here at The Waterfront Hotel and enjoyed your meal in Salt Restaurant. Hopefully next time you are in town you will be able to enjoy some sun shine and the wonderful view of Mount Taranaki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

A perfect way to start your day must be to have breakfast overlooking the water.A great location in central city and an easy walk to anywhere.Food was fantastic,restaurant location with outside balcony a bonus and the staff went beyond the call of duty with their friendly and professional service.Thought it was expensive room rate for a weekend away however rooms were clean and of a good size.I would stay again.A tiny peak of the water from our room so a room with ocean views would be a good request and would then be probably worth the money.A Jetts gym available for guests a few minutes away.A walk along the boardwalk opposite the hotel is definitely worth doing.Overall a great weekend in New Plymouth.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor which was close to restaurant so a higher floor would eliminate the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your weekend in New Plymouth and your stay with us at The Waterfront Hotel. I will pass your lovely comments about our staff on to the team here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

A recent repeat traveller to New Plymouth, this is the fourth hotel I have stayed at over October and November - and the one I would always stay in if given a choice. Rooms are very well equipped and spacious, staff were helpful and friendly, and the location couldn't be beaten. Would have deserved 5 stars if the balcony outside the restaurant had not been in the middle of refurbishment - so it wasn't available and cause a bit of noise. Parking convenient and wired internet worked well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Many thanks for your review. The balcony at Salt Restaurant is now back in order with a lovely new concrete seal and now that the summer months are here, hopefully you can enjoy a meal on the balcony next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.z
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Hotel rooms are very nice. Lots of space. Carpets could do with a clean. Restaurant was lovely. Staff very nice. Noise was as if u were outside sleeping. Yes I did check the windows they were closed. Yes i could even hear the traffic lights beeping. So great night sleep was had. NOT. Yes u could hear every one coming and going. Hotel managers need to look at more sound proofing that is for sure. Finally nice place to stay, but that your ear plugs.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwis002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us. All of our rooms are fitted with hush glass, however as we have a great location right in the CBD and we are surrounded by the shopping district, bars and restaurants, occasionally we experience unwanted noise. I do apologise that you had an unsatisfactory sleep and would appreciate if you could send me an email advising what room you were staying in. This would allow us to check the window seals are tight and have the carpet cleaned. My email address is kerie@waterfront.co.nz .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

It was a last minute decision to travel to new plymouth. Made a phone call and all done. Place was very nice and great location to the the walks on the beach. Had dinner at the Hotel that night with friends. It was lovely. Great place to stay and i would definetley stay again. It would be my first choice and it is on bartercard.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review Fiona. We look forward to having you stay with us next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.5 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
3.4 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 1 Egmont Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#8 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply watch the waves roll in... from New Plymouth's newest and ONLY Hotel on the Waterfront and yet only 1 minute to the CBD! Next door to the famous Puke Ariki Museum, Library and Information Centre! Complimentary FREE 1 hr wireless internet access daily. All rooms have super king size beds, or queen and single configuration if requested. Sea or City views from your step out balcony, most feature a step out Balcony and single spa bath, with all rooms including 12 channel sky TV, wireless & broadband internet & coffee/tea facilities. The Waterfront Hotel is a non-smoking hotel however you are most welcome to use the Balcony. Salt Restaurant and Bar on level one overlooks the sea! What more would you want!? Salt on the Waterfront offers an excellent range of seafood and contemporary cuisine with great views from every table. FORGET THE REST! TRY THE BEST! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing