We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

A recent repeat traveller to New Plymouth, this is the fourth hotel I have stayed at over October and November - and the one I would always stay in if given a choice. Rooms are very well equipped and spacious, staff were helpful and friendly, and the location couldn't be beaten. Would have deserved 5 stars if the balcony outside the restaurant had not been in the middle of refurbishment - so it wasn't available and cause a bit of noise. Parking convenient and wired internet worked well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Many thanks for your review. The balcony at Salt Restaurant is now back in order with a lovely new concrete seal and now that the summer months are here, hopefully you can enjoy a meal on the balcony next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    82
    13
    10
    6
See reviews for
26
110
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
n.z
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Hotel rooms are very nice. Lots of space. Carpets could do with a clean. Restaurant was lovely. Staff very nice. Noise was as if u were outside sleeping. Yes I did check the windows they were closed. Yes i could even hear the traffic lights beeping. So great night sleep was had. NOT. Yes u could hear every one coming and going. Hotel managers need to look at more sound proofing that is for sure. Finally nice place to stay, but that your ear plugs.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwis002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us. All of our rooms are fitted with hush glass, however as we have a great location right in the CBD and we are surrounded by the shopping district, bars and restaurants, occasionally we experience unwanted noise. I do apologise that you had an unsatisfactory sleep and would appreciate if you could send me an email advising what room you were staying in. This would allow us to check the window seals are tight and have the carpet cleaned. My email address is kerie@waterfront.co.nz .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

It was a last minute decision to travel to new plymouth. Made a phone call and all done. Place was very nice and great location to the the walks on the beach. Had dinner at the Hotel that night with friends. It was lovely. Great place to stay and i would definetley stay again. It would be my first choice and it is on bartercard.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review Fiona. We look forward to having you stay with us next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here very much. The room was large and nicely furnished and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was also very spacious, with a lovely shower and a bath. We were most impressed with staff. The women on the front desk were extremely helpful and friendly and helped us with information, directions and tickets. The only thing against the room was it was too warm. This was easily remedied with the efficient cooling system, but we did need to keep it on all night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review and wonderful comments about our rooms and the service we provided. We hope to see you again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. Room was large, clean and comfortable. Hotel staff very friendly and keen to assist the guests.
Breakfast in the dinning room was good and cooked to order, so don't be in a hurry!
Dinner and lunches were good. The portions generous and well cooked. Restaurant staff attentive with out being intrusive.
Quick access to the marine walkway and the main streets in town.
Probably the best hotel n town and the newest. More expensive that the others.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are quieter. Try to get room away from coast road as this is busy and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian_goodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Many thanks for your lovely review. We pride ourselves on top customer service therefore it is great to hear your comments about our staff and also that you enjoyed your dining experience in Salt Restaurant. We look forward to having you stay and dine with us next time you are in New Plymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed several times at The Waterfront on business, usually for 4 weeks at a time. I have no complaints whatsoever regarding the hotel. I normally take dinner in the hotel restaurant and with the exception of just one meal, I have always found the food to be of the highest standard and taste. The one meal I referred to was simply not to my liking and therefore not meant as a criticism. I have never taken breakfast during my stays so can not comment.
Internet is available free within the hotel, limited to 1hr or 30mb on a daily basis which is suitable for catching mails or networking; other pay plans are available.
Rooms are very roomy, well laid out and with very comfortable beds. I would suggest a larger set of clothes drawers but that is my only critique. Location is superb with easy access via car or on foot.
Staff are the hotel's greatest asset and are extremely friendly, knowledgeable and obviously enjoy working at the Waterfront.
I recommend the hotel unreservedly and look forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: Rooms away from elevators are always best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review Mr Lane. I will pass all your fantastic comments onto the staff here and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Also, just to let you know we do have a chest of draws available for long stays which we can put in your room for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is a very pricey place to stay by local standards so we were shocked to find that the buffet breakfast (included in the price) was so basic. Many Kiwis would have much better at home than here - plain supermarket white bread, cheap jam and weetbix etc. Staff in the restaurant were very pleasant but had little idea of how to run the service effectively, and keep on top of table clearing, refilling the hot water for the make-it-yourself drinks, and taking orders and delivering meals for paying breakfasters. Rooms were very nice and location is great for inner city attractions. Some noise from trucks and trains esp weekdays as this is on the main road to the port, and night-time revellers over the weekend. Room (facing Puke Ariki) tends to get very warm in the day and we realised that it was necessary to run the cooling on the heat pump in the room for quite a while before going to bed, otherwise it was way too hot to sleep (even though only 12-16 degrees celsius outside).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwisandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for writing a review following your stay with us. I will pass your comments in regards to the service and quality in Salt Restaurant onto our Head Chef and Restaurant Manager. Apologies that you experienced some noise during your stay, as an inner city hotel there is sometimes a small amount of noise with traffic heading to the port and passers-by during the weekends. The hotel is insulated very well which keeps it nice and warm throughout the year, all rooms are fitted with individual air conditioning units allowing guests to keep the room at a temperature they are comfortable with. We hope to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
304 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
218 reviews
0.5 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
283 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
1.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 1 Egmont Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#8 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply watch the waves roll in... from New Plymouth's newest and ONLY Hotel on the Waterfront and yet only 1 minute to the CBD! Next door to the famous Puke Ariki Museum, Library and Information Centre! Complimentary FREE 1 hr wireless internet access daily. All rooms have super king size beds, or queen and single configuration if requested. Sea or City views from your step out balcony, most feature a step out Balcony and single spa bath, with all rooms including 12 channel sky TV, wireless & broadband internet & coffee/tea facilities. The Waterfront Hotel is a non-smoking hotel however you are most welcome to use the Balcony. Salt Restaurant and Bar on level one overlooks the sea! What more would you want!? Salt on the Waterfront offers an excellent range of seafood and contemporary cuisine with great views from every table. FORGET THE REST! TRY THE BEST! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing