We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice breakfast”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, nice breakfast”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The Waterfront hotel is located, unsurprisingly, on the waterfront in New Plymouth, with a nice view out over the Tasman sea.

This also means that the waterfront walking track is right across the road and this is a popular pathway for walking and jogging with great views, and one that runs for quite some distance. The main street is only one or two blocks in the other direction.

The hotel itself is a fairly typical mid-size hotel with maybe three or four floors of rooms and a small bar and restaurant. It feels modern and fresh, apart from the corridors in the accommodation which have a very institutional feel to them for some reason.

The room was a good size, well equipped and comfortable, with good linen and amenities. The mini-bar was well stocked, although a little more expensive than I'd expect in a provincial hotel.

There was a complex regime for the internet which seemed to have an hours free access but with a small data cap, and then a paid scheme. There was some mention of contacting reception for a code, which is always an immediate turn-off for me - get with the program guys, it's 2012. I noticed a free wireless network on my phone at some stage but didn't try connecting.

The bar and restaurant are very comfortable and welcoming. We had breakfast in the hotel and it was all cooked to order which is always nice, especially if you're not in a hurry. Buffets can be so variable. Anyway, the breakfast I had, which was Grilled Snapper (fish), topped with wilted spinach and poached eggs with Hollandaise sauce was exceptional. I don't eat bacon and asked for this to be left out - the wait staff came back and offered any of the sides instead at no charge - so I had some excellent mushrooms as well.

My companion's big breakfast looked pretty good as well, so I'd definitely recommend eating in for the first meal of the day.

I have a vague memory of having had dinner in the hotel on a previous trip and also being impressed by the meal.

The staff seem very friendly and helpful, probably partly the small town thing, but also I think they are well trained and probably genuinely nice people.

The useless taxi driver that dropped us off pressured us to use him the next day for the return trip to the airport which we agreed to. The next morning at the agreed time - no taxi. The hotel were very helpful and immediately sprung into action, calling the driver (he'd forgotten the job), and organising a replacement car which arrived quickly.

Overall an excellent stay, and I'd certainly always use this hotel as my number one choice when visiting New Plymouth.

Room Tip: The proverbial room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnascroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Many thanks for your wonderful feedback John. Like many hotels we use a third party internet provider. The one hour free wireless code is available daily from reception, guests can also purchase their own internet through the website or they have the option to ask reception to do this for them (as some guests arent as confident as others). Glad to hear you enjoyed your breakfast- it is the most important meal of the day and hopefully got you off to a good start. Our friendly staff are always happy to help and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Waterfront Hotel next time you are in New Plymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    82
    13
    10
    6
See reviews for
26
110
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Had a good stay - the staff are nice and friendly. Comfortable beds and pillows with nice duvet.
Had lovely meal in the restaurant. Location nice and handy to town. Breakfast was good value and the room has good toiletries.

Room Tip: Ask for the side away from the fitness centre and shops
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Hi Alicia,
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. It is always nice to hear that our staff are nice and friendly, our beds and pillows are comfortable and our restaurant is lovely. We hope to have you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Nice hotel, room was large. Staff very friendly and overly helpful - nothing was too much to ask.

Restaurant was great and also priced similar to others in town. But be good as also lots of locals were eating there in the evening, not just hotel guests.

View of the mountain and beach was a nice sight to wake up to each day.

As other reviews have mentioned, it is a little noisy with trucks and trains passing by regularly. Double glazing would have helped with the noise and energy efficiency.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the side facing the mountain & on the top level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us. It is great to hear that our staff looked after you well and met your expectations. We like to keep our menu prices competitive with other places in town; while maintaining great customer service, high quality food and an overall great dining experience. We have a fantastic location and it is great that most of our guests get to see Mount Taranaki during their stay in New Plymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We came to a boxing event that our son was in and grabbed a room here, pretty nice, kind of stock standard, don't get me wrong the room was really nice, just nothing too indifferent from other places like Auckland and Christchurch that we have stayed at,and we have stayed here a few times, awesum view from the front rooms, and we have had really good quality food at the salt restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveandAngeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Many thanks for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Waterfront Hotel and that you had a great dining experience in Salt Restaurant. We look forward to having you stay with us again next time you are in New Plymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

My husband was travelling for business and I desided to take my 9month old daughter and I along for the ride. This hotel was pre booked for his trip. The 3 of us rocked up and from the moment we arrived they bent over backwards to accommodate us. "do we need a microwave in our room to heat baby food", baby friend table reserved for us just incase we decided to eat at the restaurant ( which we did and it was AMAZING-again staff were friendly and sooo helpful..... And the food brilliant, I could not have asked for more. Everything I had perfect!). Our little one is a crawler and you get good at inspecting the capet that they make them selves at home on and both our room and surrounding was super clean and tidy. Cannot rave enough about how amazing the staff are here and so willing to help make our stay memorable..... Which they have. Already can't wait to come again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback Kate. It is great to hear that our staff looked after you and were accommodating to your needs. We pride ourselves on excellent service and our staff are always happy to go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. I will pass on your feedback about the cleanliness of the hotel to our housekeeping team. We hope to have you and your family stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Booked the Penthouse apartment : arriving from Auckland after a 5hrs drive we were impressed by stunning views as the hotel is facing the Tasman Sea, beautiful perfect rooms! Only problem when asking before booking we have been told it is quiet: wrong as the hotel is on the main road and not double glazed so you could hear the traffic! so we did "musical rooms" and changed to rooms facing the car park: not to romantic. Rooms are very clean and big. Friendly staff, only blip was the fib on regarding the quiet penthouse as if we knew from the beginning we could have booked somewhere else.

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper do not get a room at the front! for all others location is great. Pricey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenneth13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Many thanks for your feedback. Apologies for the noise you experienced from our Penthouse Suite, Occasionally we do experience heavy traffic from the Port , but this does not happen all the time. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the rest of your stay and we hope to have you stay with us again at The Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed recently. This is where I normally stay in New Plymouth. The rooms are a good size and the beds are quite good. Staff are very friendly. Bar is quite small, but there are lots of good bars in New Plymouth. Breakfast is cooked to order and the food is excellent.. I quite like seeing the weather wand from my room.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you very much Steve for your great feedback regarding you most recent stay with us. Its great to hear from regular guests we are doing things right. We appreciate it very much. We hope to see you again in the near future. Best wishes from the Team @ The Waterfont Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
304 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
218 reviews
0.5 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
283 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
1.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 1 Egmont Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#8 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply watch the waves roll in... from New Plymouth's newest and ONLY Hotel on the Waterfront and yet only 1 minute to the CBD! Next door to the famous Puke Ariki Museum, Library and Information Centre! Complimentary FREE 1 hr wireless internet access daily. All rooms have super king size beds, or queen and single configuration if requested. Sea or City views from your step out balcony, most feature a step out Balcony and single spa bath, with all rooms including 12 channel sky TV, wireless & broadband internet & coffee/tea facilities. The Waterfront Hotel is a non-smoking hotel however you are most welcome to use the Balcony. Salt Restaurant and Bar on level one overlooks the sea! What more would you want!? Salt on the Waterfront offers an excellent range of seafood and contemporary cuisine with great views from every table. FORGET THE REST! TRY THE BEST! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing