We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to town with parking- Great Price with 2 day deal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Close to town with parking- Great Price with 2 day deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

I was attending a party in New Plymouth and decided to stay here instead of with friends. So glad I did. I wanted a bit of luxury, close to town with parking. I found the two night deal offered made this relatively new hotel the same price as older motels - a great deal. The huge bed was so comfy with everything I need including some internet time each day - just ring reception for password. My room had no view to speak of as it faced the Museum but I was not concerned. If you want to watch the view get a drink in the bar or restaurant and sit on the deck. The lovely girl on reception was most helpful. The restaurant on site was handy and very nice food. The hotel is across the road from the beach but this causes a bit of an issue with young people gathering at night on occasion but police quickly dispersed these yahooers.
I was on my own and felt safe walking to the local bars to listen to the music and have a drink. If you are in the older bracket eg not 20 and still want to enjoy a drink out check out Good Home bar with live music and friendly staff - mixed ages 30-60 and just a short stroll around the corner. It seemed to be busy and open later on the Friday night. Infact it seems in New Plymouth people go out on Fridays not so much on Saturday.

Overall an excellent hotel in the middle of town with parking included.
P.S Love the shower and selection of towels including a larger one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CosmicCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your experience with us both in the Hotel and Salt Restaurant. The complementry 1 Hour internet is recently new so we are pleased you found it stress free. Some of our rooms are positioned for better views than others, If you ever return please contact us direct and we can arrange a room with a view for you. We are very central to all the hot spots and I am pleased you felt very safe around the CBD at night. Thanks again, I will pass your great comments on to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    79
    13
    10
    6
See reviews for
23
103
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed here one night on a business trip. I am surprised at the many negative reviews i see on Tripadvisor. My room was great and very comfortable with lovely finishes and not a small box that i often encounter. the service was fantastic, i did not catch her name but checkin was a breeze and although I had a few questions the front desk girl answered them all and even moved my room with no issues. The only thing with these hotels is often the little things. Toilet paper was nicely presented and even had a sticker on it- however it was the cheapest nastiest toilet paper i have ever seen, like sandpaper. The iron was also cheap and nasty. besides those 2 little things i recommend this place to all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigsmithdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
We are very happy you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We do strive to make the check in and check out process as simple as possible for our guests. Thank you for your feedback on the smaller things, these often go unnoticed but make a big difference to the overall experience.
I will look into the Iron to ensure its up to standard and check the toilet paper with housekeeping management. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed in this hotel earlier this year and found the place very modern and nice. The rooms were tidy and comfortable. We were disapointed how we booked a room with a balcony to find that it was incredabily small with not much of a view. Reception was also abit small but still nice. Overall it was very nice and comfortable but the price of the room was abit expensive for what we got in return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank countrygirl430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Thank you for your valued feedback. We very much appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry you found the balcony to be small and the view to be limited. Some of our rooms do have better views than others. If you ever return please contact us direct and we can arrange one of these for you. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1,372 reviews
249 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 652 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

On the slopes of the sleeping giant Mount Taraniki, New Plymouth and the Waterfront hotel are literally under the volcano. You feel the presence of the volcano wherever you go and it is very well expressed in the surprisingly nice, even if to the English ear somewhat awkwardly named (not in Maori of course) Puke Ariki museum right next door. The hotel has roomy standard business type rooms with a nice bathroom. The internet regrettably came at an additional cost. The laundry however was very cost effective and good. The best bit of the hotel is perhaps the restaurant Salt, we ate there everyday with outstanding service, excellent food and a very good choice of wines as well. The hotel is also nicely located steps away from the extensive boardwalk along which you can stroll for miles and miles.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermes_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Hello and many thanks for your wonderful feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us recently and your dining experiences in Salt restaurant aswell. The photos look very good that you took, its not often we think of Our mountain as a "volcano", but thats exactly what it is. I do think we take it for granted a little. thanks again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly and efficent staff. Very good food at Salt Restaurant. Room I had and whole Hotel appeared clean and well cared for. Great views of the sea and very close to all amenities. Very quiet and comfortable despite the busy road frontage. Will stay here again business or pleasure. Thank you.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfronttaranaki, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you for your great feed back regarding your stay here in March.I am very pleased you had a great time and found our staff to be helpful. I will pass on your comments to the team. Best wishes and we hope to see you in the near future. Regards, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

A good overnight stay, generous sized comfortable room and lovely location right on the sea-front. Staff were helpful and accommodating. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are definitely better, but with more road-noise and at times surf noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfronttaranaki, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Many thanks for positive your feedback regarading your recent stay with us here at The Waterfront Hotel. I am very pleased your enjoyed experience with us here in New Plymouth.We hope to see you again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

This is a hotel by the beach, but unless you pay the extra amount, you will probably not get the sea views. Nonetheless, because it is very close to the beach, there is always the opportunity to take a nice evening or morning walk. In terms of location, there is also a small cafe and a gym really close to the hotel (although if I remember correctly, there is complimentary use of a gym associated to the hotel).

The king size room was really spacious - this is a big plus point. There were clean and tasteful furniture (two comfy armchairs, a desk and chair) with a very big flat screen TV. The bed was super comfy and there are many pillows arranged on it, which is something I like. Linens were really clean as well. There was a great selection of tea and coffee, but the interior of the kettle was a little yellow. Other than that, cleanliness was top notch, even for someone as fussy as I am. Also, free newspapers are provided on request (newspapers on Sundays are charged though).

Bathrobes are provided with complimentary toiletries and facial tissue paper (minus toothbrush and toothpaste). Hot water was plentiful. There was a spa tub in the bathroom which I did not try out.

The one big negative thing about my room was the fact that the air conditioner was really loud. I woke up several times throughout the night due to the loud air conditioner. If the air conditioner was a little more quiet, I would have rated the Waterfront as a 5 star accommodation!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfronttaranaki, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your feed back regarding your stay with us in March 2012.
We are very pleased you enjoyed overall experience with us. We do take pride in our high standard of cleanliness and room amenties that we provide for our guests.
I do apologise you had issues with the level of noise from the air conditioning unit in your room.We will certainly look into this.Thank you again. Enyoy the remainder of your trip and may it be a safe one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.4 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
3.4 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 1 Egmont Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#8 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply watch the waves roll in... from New Plymouth's newest and ONLY Hotel on the Waterfront and yet only 1 minute to the CBD! Next door to the famous Puke Ariki Museum, Library and Information Centre! Complimentary FREE 1 hr wireless internet access daily. All rooms have super king size beds, or queen and single configuration if requested. Sea or City views from your step out balcony, most feature a step out Balcony and single spa bath, with all rooms including 12 channel sky TV, wireless & broadband internet & coffee/tea facilities. The Waterfront Hotel is a non-smoking hotel however you are most welcome to use the Balcony. Salt Restaurant and Bar on level one overlooks the sea! What more would you want!? Salt on the Waterfront offers an excellent range of seafood and contemporary cuisine with great views from every table. FORGET THE REST! TRY THE BEST! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing