We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This could be a nice hotel if it were not right on top of St Aubyn Street”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2012

This hotel has well equipped and spacious rooms plus a restaurant that serves excellent lunch and dinner. Just one problem, the hotel was built right in top of busy St. Aubyn Street, unlike the adjacent Puke Ariki Museum which has been set back. The heavy trucks heading to and from the port make a great deal of noise stopping and pulling away from traffic lights by the hotel. The balcony of the restaurant is only a few metres from the traffic and you can’t smell your wine for the traffic fumes. In the rooms close St Aubyn Street the noise must be unbearable but we were lucky to have a room near the back where it is a little quieter. The continental breakfast offered by the hotel was very poor and the cooked breakfast only average. On the second day of our stay we went to a nearby cafe and got a much better breakfast for a similar price. A quirk of this hotel is that it imposes a large surcharge if you pay by Visa or Mastercard credit cards and a huge surcharge for other credit cards. We concluded that the hotel must be run by an accountant who has decided that every cent of the Merchant Service Commission must be wrung out of guests. During our trip only a few other hotels imposed a credit card surcharge, all in the form of a modest flat rate surcharge enough to encourage payment by other means where possible while not unduly penalising tourists who often have little choice. The Waterfront Hotel is not in the price competitive lower end of the market where surcharges may be necessary. It is time that this hotel relegated their accountant to bean counting and brought in someone with marketing experience to come up with a sensible approach to credit cards and make the case for drastic action to sort out the noise and pollution problem. If we go back to New Plymouth we will stay elsewhere, but we would have lunch or dinner in the restaurant as long as it was an inside table.

Room Tip: Try to get one near the back, away from St Aubyn Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike-Bucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

I am very sorry that your stay was not all that you expected. We are a CBD Hotel which alot of our clients prefer as they like to walk everywhere, no car is needed to get to New Plymouth's most popular sites. Occasionally we do experience heavy traffic from the Port , but this does not happen all the time. Our credit card surcharge only covers what the banks charge us, there is no mark up. We do advise all our guests of the surcharge on checking in so that they have the option of using cash or Eftpos instead.
This makes it optional for the guests on whether or not to pay a surcharge, or pay by some other means. We certainly hope that you will come back and enjoy our restaurant during your next visit, and that it is a low traffic day.
We are a small family owned business and are merely trying not to have to raise our prices

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 250 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed at the Waterfront Hotel as it was the collection & dropoff point for shuttles to the wedding we were attending. Although the hotel was nice, well presented and clean, I found it to be overpriced for what it was. On arrival our room was stifling hot as the aircon hadn't been on - we ended up stripping down to our underwear while waiting for the aircon to kick in and sufficiently cool the room. Our room had no view which was ok because I wasn't really expecting one, but we still heard the trucks thundering past to the port at all hours of the day and night. Also, the bed was very much on the 'firm' side of the spectrum. The only big 'thumbs up' was the free parking available on a first in, best served basis. All up, not a bad stay for our purposes, but not somewhere I would choose to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa_in_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

We at The Waterfront Hotel are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We do strive to be an energy efficient Hotel and part of this is conserving energy usage. The weather has been very hot in Taranaki. We can chill rooms on request if asked to do so and if we know your time of arrival.
It was unfortunate that there was a large container ship in at the port that day and on a weekend which is not the norm, hence alot of heavy vehicle traffic along the waterfront.
We were so happy for your group as the weather was brilliant for the wedding.
We apologise sincerely for the traffic noise that you experianced on the night of the wedding

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Thie hotel is well located facing the sea with the beautiful Coastal Walkway right in front of it. It's Salt Restauarnt is great with good food and service plus a coffee and drinks area open all day. However the accommodation is not up to par with it's restaurant and location. Do not be fooled when they say that they have suites in the hotel. We booked a suite and what we had was a room much like all other rooms that you get in hotels round the world. You walk in, there bathroom is on the left, the cupboards on the right, then there is the bed with a desk on the opposite side and then the windows with two chairs before it. It doesn't qualify as a suite by any stretch of the imagination. On checking in we asked for a suite and were told that the penthouse suite would be available the next day. Insaid i would take t the next day. When I asked forthe suite the nect day, it wasn't availble as they sold it the night before. Then there is is poor Internet in the rooms. It is not free and 24 hours cost $29.90 which is what we paid.
The internet was intermitten. The connection dropped out every half hour or so and then terminated after about 20 hours. If you are using the Internet for business purpose, it can
be very frustrating.

Room Tip: Ensure that if you have booked for a suite, it actually has a separate sitting area to the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandoraOfMerricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

We at the Waterfront Hotel are sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory, we take each guests feedback very seriously

I have checked your reservation and you have confirmed a Deluxe Studio for your booking not a suite.
We did sell the large suite after you enquired about it, we were very busy that day and you had only asked for a quote on the room and had not booked it.
Our internet is really good considering the speed NZ has, The issue with your room was that you had networked an Iphone and two laptops to your connection which our system
does not like and it kept cutting out, we did explain to you that it was not acceptable and offered another room free of charge to use the internet connection . We also offer each guest 1 hours free wireless internet each day of their stay.
We do pride ourselves on trying to meet all guests needs and expectations and are sorry we did not this time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed here to treat the missus on a Saturday night of course we hit town late hours very close to town so was a breeze walking home.the only thing I was broke after it limited beers were brought uptown but all round good stay

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobymaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed at The Waterfront as a stop on our honeymoon. New Plymouth is certainly worth a stop. Very interesting City with plenty to do. The Waterfront could be spectacular, but "just OK" service and average room appointment could be approved upon. Room views are hit and miss, try to get a room on the 3rd foor, near the front of the hotel so you have a view of the sea, just yards away. The wind wand across the street, museum next door can provide hours of entertainment.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRAE151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Beautiful Hotel & Location
Friendly staff who make the effort to sort any matter or problem out
Room interior is warm and inviting
Great Breakfast

Room Tip: Use the internet first then call them to get the best available room rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyberia_302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

4 day business trip, from the UK with Ozzy collegue.
This is a small Small hotel with a big heart.
Made very welcome by all the staff. Not an overcomplicated hotel but intimate and very friendly.
Terry in the small bar and Julie on reception are great as are all the others.
Easy parking underneath the hotel.
Pleasant balcony bar.
Suprisingly accomadating restaurant, nice to see a real chef these days, lovley food worth a visit on its own.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
343 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
255 reviews
1 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Address: 1 Egmont Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#6 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#8 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range: $116 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply watch the waves roll in... from New Plymouth's newest and ONLY Hotel on the Waterfront and yet only 1 minute to the CBD! Next door to the famous Puke Ariki Museum, Library and Information Centre! Complimentary FREE 1 hr wireless internet access daily. All rooms have super king size beds, or queen and single configuration if requested. Sea or City views from your step out balcony, most feature a step out Balcony and single spa bath, with all rooms including 12 channel sky TV, wireless & broadband internet & coffee/tea facilities. The Waterfront Hotel is a non-smoking hotel however you are most welcome to use the Balcony. Salt Restaurant and Bar on level one overlooks the sea! What more would you want!? Salt on the Waterfront offers an excellent range of seafood and contemporary cuisine with great views from every table. FORGET THE REST! TRY THE BEST! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing