We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but accommodation not quite up to scratch”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Thie hotel is well located facing the sea with the beautiful Coastal Walkway right in front of it. It's Salt Restauarnt is great with good food and service plus a coffee and drinks area open all day. However the accommodation is not up to par with it's restaurant and location. Do not be fooled when they say that they have suites in the hotel. We booked a suite and what we had was a room much like all other rooms that you get in hotels round the world. You walk in, there bathroom is on the left, the cupboards on the right, then there is the bed with a desk on the opposite side and then the windows with two chairs before it. It doesn't qualify as a suite by any stretch of the imagination. On checking in we asked for a suite and were told that the penthouse suite would be available the next day. Insaid i would take t the next day. When I asked forthe suite the nect day, it wasn't availble as they sold it the night before. Then there is is poor Internet in the rooms. It is not free and 24 hours cost $29.90 which is what we paid.
The internet was intermitten. The connection dropped out every half hour or so and then terminated after about 20 hours. If you are using the Internet for business purpose, it can
be very frustrating.

Room Tip: Ensure that if you have booked for a suite, it actually has a separate sitting area to the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandoraOfMerricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

We at the Waterfront Hotel are sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory, we take each guests feedback very seriously

I have checked your reservation and you have confirmed a Deluxe Studio for your booking not a suite.
We did sell the large suite after you enquired about it, we were very busy that day and you had only asked for a quote on the room and had not booked it.
Our internet is really good considering the speed NZ has, The issue with your room was that you had networked an Iphone and two laptops to your connection which our system
does not like and it kept cutting out, we did explain to you that it was not acceptable and offered another room free of charge to use the internet connection . We also offer each guest 1 hours free wireless internet each day of their stay.
We do pride ourselves on trying to meet all guests needs and expectations and are sorry we did not this time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 245 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed here to treat the missus on a Saturday night of course we hit town late hours very close to town so was a breeze walking home.the only thing I was broke after it limited beers were brought uptown but all round good stay

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobymaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed at The Waterfront as a stop on our honeymoon. New Plymouth is certainly worth a stop. Very interesting City with plenty to do. The Waterfront could be spectacular, but "just OK" service and average room appointment could be approved upon. Room views are hit and miss, try to get a room on the 3rd foor, near the front of the hotel so you have a view of the sea, just yards away. The wind wand across the street, museum next door can provide hours of entertainment.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRAE151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Beautiful Hotel & Location
Friendly staff who make the effort to sort any matter or problem out
Room interior is warm and inviting
Great Breakfast

Room Tip: Use the internet first then call them to get the best available room rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyberia_302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

4 day business trip, from the UK with Ozzy collegue.
This is a small Small hotel with a big heart.
Made very welcome by all the staff. Not an overcomplicated hotel but intimate and very friendly.
Terry in the small bar and Julie on reception are great as are all the others.
Easy parking underneath the hotel.
Pleasant balcony bar.
Suprisingly accomadating restaurant, nice to see a real chef these days, lovley food worth a visit on its own.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed here for our anniversary. We chose it for its location. walked to all attractions and is right by the sea and walkway along the coast. Nice modern hotel and the cleanest one I have ever stayed in. Staff were very helpful and friendly. ate in the restaurant on the first night and good food and service. would stay again great location and comfy beds. No gym but free use of one close by and free internet in the restaurant for half an hour .

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collins55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Spacious rooms (shame there isn't a kitchenette), central location, we had a view of the ocean & Mt Taranaki, very comfortable bed, 2 armchairs, free self parking, bakery accross the road, waterfront walkway in front of hotel, would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TP42_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
334 reviews
0.5 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
175 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
3.4 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#8 of 30 in New Plymouth
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Address: 1 Egmont Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#8 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range: $139 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply watch the waves roll in... from New Plymouth's newest and ONLY Hotel on the Waterfront and yet only 1 minute to the CBD! Next door to the famous Puke Ariki Museum, Library and Information Centre! Complimentary FREE 1 hr wireless internet access daily. All rooms have super king size beds, or queen and single configuration if requested. Sea or City views from your step out balcony, most feature a step out Balcony and single spa bath, with all rooms including 12 channel sky TV, wireless & broadband internet & coffee/tea facilities. The Waterfront Hotel is a non-smoking hotel however you are most welcome to use the Balcony. Salt Restaurant and Bar on level one overlooks the sea! What more would you want!? Salt on the Waterfront offers an excellent range of seafood and contemporary cuisine with great views from every table. FORGET THE REST! TRY THE BEST! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing