We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coronation Court Motel
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Mt Barker
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We recently spent two nights at this Motel and found it to be a pleasant experience. The owner was pleasant and helpful and the rooms were spacious and well fitted out. The kitchen facilities were excellent as was the bathroom. We were in a one bedroom apartment which had a queen size bed in the bedroom and also a single bed in the living area which allowed the wife to get some respite from my snoring. The location was not bad. It is situated on the the main road going into town and is about a five minute drive from the town center. There is a deli about a hundred meters down the road for incidentals. We felt that this motel was very good value for money and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanAdelaide3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    23
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
12
15
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Rooms are very clean and tidy albeit slightly outdated. Noticed that some people had pets, so if you have a pet I would recommend this one. Nice hosts.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOP
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

This is one of the older motels in New Plymouth but it is very clean, tidy and and has all the ammenities you need. It has zenbu wi-fi (first 50mg free then absolutely minimal cost after that), it was fully self contained and you can order breakfast if you want it. It may not have all the fancy-schmancy luxury toiletries the other places have but it does have the fluffiest towels I have had in a motel for a long time. And if paying $89 and missing out on some motel shampoo is the only negative, it's a total no-brainer! Would recommend, and would stay again. The breakfast is yummy too, by the way :0)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellingFerret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Very old and dated motel, no hair dryer, only 3 sets of everything (cutlery) yes we stayed as 3 people but some people might use more then 1 spoon in 2 days don't you think. Tried to have a cup of tea in the moring, horrible taste I think even budget tea tastes better. Everything was very budget and old. The hosts were a nice old couple but we saw some people pulling up chatting to some friends that were staying in the same motel & the friends of the people were growled off by the owner for parking at the front of the motel. Seemed a bit mean and unprofessional and I doubt of the front road of the motel is your property if someone wants to pull over and have a chat then that shouldn't be of your consern. Also had a few long black hairs floating on the edges of the bathroom sink yuck, and please deodorise your closets as they smelt of old musky body odour.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happybumbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Plymouth hotels

Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2011

I stayed with my partner here for 3 days and we really enjoyed our time here. We booked a large studio and it was very clean, in good shape and we even had a balcony. The studio consisted of a fully equiped kitchen, one queen bed that was very comfy and an extra single bed that we did only use to place our staff on it:-). The carpet in our room was one of the cleanest we have ever seen compared to other Motels and was probably quite new.

After travelling over 6 months around the world and staying in hundred of different places, we must say that the hospitality here was outstanding! Fi and Ian were helping us whenever we needed some information, help in transportion and were always there for a little chat!

The Motel is approx. 2 kilometers away from the town center but with a car it is only a couple of minutes to get there. There is a wonderful park just around the corner which we definitely recommend to have a walk at. The Motel is also a good place to stay when you plan to climb Mount Taranaki/Egmont in one day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PalmBeachSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikanae, Lower North Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2008

We just spent several days in New Plymouth at the Coronation Court Motel for the college sports championships for the Lower North Island, New Zealand.

It isn't a 5-start hotel but the reasonable rates reflect that. Coronation Court hosts Ian and Fi have done a wonderful job providing clean, comfortable and quiet accomodation. They are nice people too.

Since taking over management of the motel in early 2008 Ian and Fi have been upgrading the rooms. Our's was just right with plenty of room for our party of five. Everything in the room worked i.e. no broken furniture, leaky faucets, burned out light bulbs etc and there was no noise from the adjoining rooms (even though we had a soccer team on one side and a rugby team on the other). Rooms were clean and tidy and beds were very comfortable. Dial-up internet access worked fine and was surprisingly cheap.

The location, while not on the beach is actually very good. The motel is one minute walk to the Pukekura Racecourse (horse racing) and just beyond that is Brooklands Park and the TSB Arena where the Taranaki National Basketball Team plays.

We'll not hesitate to stay at the Coronation Court next time we are in New Plymouth. Well done Ian and FI!

  • Liked — Clean/comfortable/quiet - Mostly though, knew the hosts were very eager to please
  • Disliked — Nothing really. It isn't a 5-star hotel but not paying for that either.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DLShaddox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nonthaburi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2006

I live in a double room. Facilities are ok. The room is quite small. They welcome those who belong pets which I do not prefer that.

The location is a little far from the city center. There are sevaral motel nearer. Since I travel by car, there is a little problem with this subject. The coronation street is one of the main street heading to a city center.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank noiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Egmont Eco Lodge
Egmont Eco Lodge
#26 of 30 in New Plymouth
41 reviews
1.5 mi away
Braemar Motor Inn
Braemar Motor Inn
#28 of 30 in New Plymouth
64 reviews
0.7 mi away
BKs Egmont Motor Lodge
BKs Egmont Motor Lodge
#20 of 30 in New Plymouth
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Asure Saddle and Sulky Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Carrington Motel
Carrington Motel
#30 of 30 in New Plymouth
64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pukekura Motor Lodge
Pukekura Motor Lodge
#15 of 30 in New Plymouth
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronation Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronation Court Motel

Property: Coronation Court Motel
Address: 226 Coronation Avenue, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coronation Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coronation Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing