We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A marvellously set out place”
Review of Puke Ariki

Puke Ariki
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cambridge NZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A marvellously set out place”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

It was free, easily accessible, informative, helpful staff, placed next to info centre, good restrooms

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    111
    19
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Custer, South Dakota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great little museum”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Free! Great general overview and history of NZ. Movie on things to and see in the area. Very well done. Nice Maori displays.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manaia Town District, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Advice”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We are Taranaki residents and called in for directions. What a joy the lady who served us was!! She was interested in us, our stay and had great advice. We learnt of several locations new to us which were excellent. This lady is an asset to New Plymouth, I wish I had taken her name but she was working on the morning of Sunday 6th January 2013. Go see her I am sure you will learn something from her!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
english
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent history of New Plymouth”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The displays all used good modern techniques to present information. Of particular interest to me are the history of New Plymouth settlers and also the oil & gas industry. All well presented. The meeter and greeter could have been a bit more helpful to someone visiting for the first time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank aged_snapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“iSite was the highlight”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Popping into the Museum and greeted by a staff member was nice, with a quick overview of the exhibitions on display. Not overbearing or annoying - just a simple welcome and a brief list of key attractions. Content of information, particularly about the taranaki region was interesting, but a museum is still a museum ... no matter where you are.

The iSite on the other hand located in the same building had a great point of difference from other iSites we have visited - it had two large "google maps" type tables where anyone could go and have a satellite view of the region (zoom in ... zoom out etc), and even obtain directions to a specific address or location. I managed to obtain driving instructions to our accommodation before the children usurped my position on the map. Nice!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank YorkStWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puke Ariki also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Puke Ariki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing