We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dream Villa!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ahu Ahu Beach Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeside, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Dream Villa!”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The most amazing, attention to detail, place I have ever stayed! AMAZING!!! The Lodge was perfect! We had drove a long drive and to pull up to this beautiful property almost brought tears to my eyes! I am waiting for the day when we can return. The beach walk is amazing. The hidden benches where the perfect view of the sunset makes your stay even better! The owners are so nice and go out of their way to make you feel welcome! Romantic for couples, great for families, whatever your needs are the Lodge is the way to go!!!!

Room Tip: For the perfect stay choose the lodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momtks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
77
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

What an amazing place, feels like a mix of french country chique with NZ sea and vistas. We had a lovely stay at the cottage every little detail was prepared so we made a big fire in the firebrazier and talkes with other guests. Good stay Good people!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mentrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Our family of four stayed for four nights - we had booked for three but just had to stay another night. The villas were all booked so we stayed in the Lodge which was just perfect, when the weather was nice we opened up the doors and looked out over Oakura Beach; and when the weather turned a bit stormy we had plenty of space to spread out. The kitchen was awesome so we stayed in and cooked dinner most nights, only venturing out for dinner one night and then to see the lights in Pukekura Park. The bedrooms and bathrooms were lovely, and our youngest enjoyed having a bed set up in the corner of the main living space. The big screen and projector were a hit too, we had our own little movie night! Thanks to David and Nuala for being such great hosts, we'd certainly love to return at some stage.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank David0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We're a family with 4 kids aged 4,7,11,13. We spent two nights at Ahu Ahu. First of all I must say the place is awesome! The chalets are very special and the view is just relaxing.
We were planning to surf, but the weather was very bad and the surfing guide we booked the lesson with cancelled the lesson due to it. We were sure we're going to spend a day in the (beautiful) chalet, but David (the owner) came and offered to take us surfing 45 minutes away from there, in a place he heard was sunny. He brought all the surfing gear including the wet suits and the surfing boards and took us in his car to the place. He went inside the water with the kids and my husband and guided them in the water. After the surfing experience he took us to a very nice cafe for lunch. David knows a lot about the area, so we enjoyed all his stories.
He refused to be paid for this amazing favour!
WOW! Thanks! You definitely saved our day!
Thanks to Nuala (his wife) that took care of all our laundry and brought movies for the kids.
You are both very special people!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoyaShaham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I really want to express my heartfelt gratitude to the kindness of the owners and managers.
We have had a very tough year and wanted to spend nice christmas in their beautiful lodge.
Communication could not have been easier or more pleasant. The place looked like heaven and I have heard so many good things and we were looking so much forward to it-but then one of our horses got sick, the dog ate all the christmas chocolate and threw up - and the housesitter bolted.
so with a heavy heart we had to cancel last minute ( a day before) and fully prepared to pay cancellation fee/penalty.
However David could not have been kinder or more understanding- even offered we could bring the horses and we dont have to pay any cancellation.
Basically he is my hero and santa claus in one now and we will definitely be visiting! ( as soon as private shambles sorted:-)
Never ever have I had such a kind hearted and lovely experience with a booking process and I can just imagine being cared for like family and spoilt and well looked after!
Thanks so much david and nuala and have a wonderful and merry christmas!

Room Tip: have heard friends all rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estellejulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I don't normally sleep well when away from home, but at Ahu Ahu I slept like a rock. Comfy and peaceful.
The units are well presented and interesting. Love the recycled nearly everything. I can't believe someone moaning about them being "dated" - they're supposed to be like that!
Yes, not the cheapest place to stay, but worth the price for the fabulous peace and quiet. And the sleep!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alec W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Unfortunately our visit was much too short but we were amazed at the beauty and tranquillity of the villas the views were stunning and the sound of the surf so calming . We were made very welcome by David and it was a pleasure to meet his father , Highly recommended to anyone who seeks peace and comfort of the highest standard . Cannot wait for the next opportunity to return and walk along the beach Many Thanks Jan & Graham Williams

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
8.7 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
8.6 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
9.1 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
9.8 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahu Ahu Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahu Ahu Beach Villas

Property: Ahu Ahu Beach Villas
Address: 321 Ahu Ahu Rd, RD4 New Plymouth | Oakura, New Plymouth, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ahu Ahu Beach Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern accommodation in a rustic style, Ahu Ahu Beach Villas and Oraukawa Lodge are set in farmland with stunning seaviews from every room and only a short stroll from the beach and famed surf breaks. The Villas are ideal for a romantic getaway or family luxury holiday. Oraukawa Lodge can be yours for a function or event, and is well set up for business meetings and corporate events in inspiring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ahu Ahu Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ahu Ahu Beach Villas Hotel New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing