We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't recommend highly enough”
Review of Airlie House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Airlie House
Ranked #4 of 24 New Plymouth B&B and Inns
London, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't recommend highly enough”
Reviewed July 21, 2009

I stayed here on my own for 3 nights in June and would recommend Airlie House to everyone. I was visiting New Zealand for a friend's wedding and in between staying with her, I travelled around on my own. I was a little worried how that would go, but Gabrielle was so welcoming and made me feel at home straight away, I did not want to leave! I stayed in the studio room so I could cook for myself if I chose to, and I was very pleased with the space and facilities. As I was visiting in winter, the room was a little cold, but the electric blankets came in very handy!
The B & B is extremely well located, being within easy walking distance of the coastal walkways and the centre of town, but is also very peaceful. I saw some of the other places I had looked at on Trip Advisor and they were either much further out or on busy main roads.
Gabrielle was very helpful in recommending places to visit and things to do and her breakfasts were delightful. The little extra touches like cookies left each day in the kitchen and robes in the bathroom were very welcome, and helped to make the stay here a memorable one.
I hope to return to New Plymouth when I visit New Zealand again, and won't consider looking anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldismylobster21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
55
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at Airlie House for 5 nights. There is no other adjective but perfect. If there is anything that Gabrielle hasn't thought of to make her guests comfortable, we can't think what it would be!

The house itself is beautiful - lovely old wood furniture with contemporary decor. Our double room was large with large bath/shower room. The setting combines being central to town (10 minute walk) but because the house is behind a large hedge, traffic noise is minimal. The house is surrounded by a delightful garden.

Breakfast ranges can include a cooked breakfast, fresh fruit, baked goods, yogurt - delicious and plentiful.

Important for us was the study where a computer with internet was available free of charge to guests. The room also included a large screen TV with a wide range of DVD's for a quiet evening. In addition, each room has a small TV with cable.

The small touches which really set this experience apart include:
- beautiful linens with ironed sheets (who irons sheets??)
- cookies, tea, coffee and small chocolate bars in the rooms
- attractive living room with fridge for guests use
- off street parking
- useful tourist brochures as well as advice from the owner Gabrielle
- Gabrielle's charming and lively personality - helpful but never intrusive

This is the best bed and breakfast we have ever visited. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vancouvertraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manawatu
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at this centrally located, elegant, warm New Plymouth villa. It was my first stay at Bed and Breakfast accommodation. We booked the Garden Room, a very large double room with an almost equally large separate bathroom, complete with shower and bath. The room was quiet and peaceful with a stunning outlook on a beautiful, private front garden. The Queen-Sized bed was very comfortable. Also available to guests are a comfortable Sitting Room and a Television/Dvd Room.

Gabrielle our hostess was fantastic, welcoming and relaxed, putting us immediately at ease. She was also knowledgeable about New Plymouth which we found very helpful. The décor in the Garden Room and bathroom and throughout the house was beautiful with quality chattels, warm, clean and modern but also sensitive to the house’s historic origins. I consider this environment superior to any that a hotel room would provide.

The included breakfast was absolutely wonderful, cereals, then made to order cooked breakfast and muffins. On top of all this there were the wonderful little embellishments, like the lovely biscuits with our coffee and tea making facilities in the room, the linen towels and the bathrobe. We would not hesitate to recommend Airlie House to anyone wishing for a comfortable and relaxed stay in New Plymouth. We will definitely return!

  • Liked — Style, centrality, quiet, private, friendly
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Buzzibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2008

Airlie House is a tastefully redecorated colonial style house with a lovely private garden which belies its central location. The amenities are of high quality with our accomodation including a large bathroom with underfloor heating, shower and claw foot bath. The owner/hostess, Gaye, is friendly and welcoming and a font of local knowledge. The breakfast was more than ample and well cooked. Airlie House was an excellent find!

  • Liked — The setting, location, decor and the hospitality of the owner/hostess
  • Disliked — Liked it all
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2006

Airlie House is a delightful B&B. My partner and I stayed 2 nights in the spacious and comfortable Garden Room, and I loved our private bathroom with the clawfoot bath and the lovely bath & body lotions and products available to use. There were also other welcome personal touches (e.g. delicious home baking) which seemed to be typical of the warm & friendly hospitality of our host Gabrielle (who will also offer to cook you a hearty cooked breakfast in addition to the delicious continental breakfast on offer). Located in a very central but quiet location also made this a wonderful base from which to explore the city centre and many attractions on foot. Airlie House offers accommodation with a level of comfort, ambience and quality that is great value for money, and if ever in New Plymouth again, we will definitely return to stay.

  • Liked — The little personal touches that made the place comfortable
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank adski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 1, 2006

Stayed at Airlie House for 3 nights and was very impressed with the ammenities (beautiful generous sized bedroom with super king size bed, crisp cotton linen, ensuite, window seat and if you needed it, sky tv), the friendly interaction from the host and other guests (who had stayed previously), and the delicious and hearty brekfasts. This gorgeous villa has been stylishly renovated and dressed up and is very central to town. A real find and will be back again next time in New Plymouth!

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 26, 2004

We were very happy to make this discovery on our journey around New Zealand. All the comforts you would expect at a 5-star hotel for a fraction of the cost. Satellite TV, wireless internet access, home baking, and excellent beds making this the most memorable B&B we have stayed in. The range of the style and quality of B&B's in New Zealand varies a lot, so am happy to share our find. Many thanks!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
232 reviews
0.3 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
299 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tivoli Homestay
Tivoli Homestay
#1 of 24 in New Plymouth
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast
Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 24 in New Plymouth
155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Issey Manor
Issey Manor
#14 of 24 in New Plymouth
4 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#5 of 24 in New Plymouth
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie House

Property: Airlie House
Address: 161 Powderham Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inclusive breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Airlie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing