We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Phenomenal B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Airlie House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Airlie House
Ranked #5 of 24 New Plymouth B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Phenomenal B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

What a lovely place - my wife and I stayed two nights at Airlie House and were just thrilled by the hospitality from the hostess Gabrielle. The house is beautiful, the room are very cosy and very very clean - the bed and sheets are sensational! It is good located - it just takes 10 minutes to walk to the city.
Particular to mention is the room with a extra large screen and more than 100 DVD's which Gabrielle offers their guest to use - fantastic to watch a nice movie after diner! Or for those who are not interested in movies: Just use the guest living room with a small library to read a nice book.
In addition Gabrielle fulfilled all our wishes to make our stay as pleasant as possible. There was no hesitation as we asked for laundry - she even hung up our clothes that we could go for exploring the countryside.
To sum up: A phenomenal B&B in New Plymouth to explore the city and everything else!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cako2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
55
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Right from my first contact with Airlie House till when I left was easy. We stayed in the Studio apartment at the top of this 1900's Victorian Villa. The house was a lovely mix of modern and classic. All furnishings tasteful and very comfortable.
There was a computer for my 6yr old to play games plus an extensive video library.
The cooked breakfast was first class with fresh fruit prior.
Our hostess is a lovely lady who having travelled a lot herself understands well the little touches that make a stay so special. Never intrusive but so helpful and ready to offer a hand (we got caught very badly in a downpour after walking back from town!)
Great location, great sheets, great stay

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crusing43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

This is the perfect B&B for a couple. We stayed in the Garden Room room which was roomy and well appointed and included two toilets and a large bathroom with a shower and claw-foot bath.

Our host Gabrielle was friendly and knows how to run a top-flight B&B. At breakfast you are spoilt for choice and any individual requirements are cheerfully provided for. The house has a delightful lounge area for guests' use as well as another lounge with a large TV screen and a wall full of DVDs to while away a raining day.

From Airlie House it is an easy walk into New Plymouth city. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Stayed two nights in The Garden Room, very spacious
A days golf at New Plymouth ( one of the great courses in New Zealand)
with the bath to soak away the five hour trek , a great choice
Otherwise read the previous reviews which are totally accurate

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerbazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
1,055 reviews
317 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,543 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Yes, I wasn't quite sure about this B&B since the price (NZ$ 165/night incl. internet & breakfast) made me worried about the quality compared to the other luxury B&B and Lodges we have chosen on our trip through NZ. So expectations were quite low when we drove from Wellington towards new Plymouth, enjoyed the perfect view towards the volcano.

When we arrived we were surprised by the lovely house and especially the charming host greeting us, showing us our "garden room".

The house is excellent, an old, renovated house - such as you expect from a luxury B&B. Our room was just huge, with very nice view towards the garden. It was spotless clean, the bed of good quality... Everything as you desire from a much more expensive Lodge. The bathroom was one of the biggest we had on our trip, with bath tub & separate shower cabin. Again, spotless clean, with all the amenities (shampoo etc.) you need (and don't expect at that price). There was even a 2nd toilet for complete privacy.

The host informed us about the city, helped us to do all reservations for sightseeing (the heli flight over the summit of the mountain is a must (heliview helicopters operate a real one, not a Raven 44).

And then the breakfast, STUNNING! Very good coffee, fresh fruits (pineapple, strawberries, blueberries...), cooked breakfast - everything included in NZ$ 165...

After Airlie House I don't anymore understand the price structure of B&B in NZ. Okay, some are more expensive because of the location, the value of the house, but - really - how can anyone charge NZ$ 600 for a night at a luxury B&B when Airlie House charges just NZ$ 165???

I can only say: thumbs up for the fantastic lady and her real luxury B&B.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

New Plymouth has so many wonderful buildings and taonga to share as well as friendly people, and Airlie House typifies the best of what New Plymouth has to offer. Airlie House is a historic home with luxurious rooms, hosted by Gabrielle who provides a brilliant home away from home. We had the upstairs studio, which had a good sized self contained kitchen, we still made use of the breakfast on offer! We enjoyed the multi national breakfast table and the conversations we had with the other guests. The bed linen was 100% cotton, with feather duvet and pillows and the bed was very comfortable. The location is perfect for walking into town, and exploring Puke Ariki, the waterfront, Govett Brewster etc. If you are looking for a little bit of pampering, with fabulous hospitality then you can not go wrong with Airlie House.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slowjocrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

I stayed here with a friend for 3 nights just before Christmas and we loved it. What can I say that hasn't already been said?? We had the room with the twin beds...it was lovely. Beds - very comfortable, ensuite - a bit small (but then I'm a bit big!!) but it was really clean and body wash and body moisturiser were provided. Tea and coffee are in your room along with some lovely home baking and little choc bars!! Breakfast is fab - cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruit, toast, bacon, eggs, sausages, mushrooms, tomatoes..whatever of those takes your fancy!
Gabrielle is a very friendly, accommodating host and we felt like old friends.
I highly recommend Airlie House for your next new Plymouth stay.

Room Tip: We had the room with the window seat and it looks onto the garden and you can see a little onto the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
6.1 mi away
Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast
Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 24 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie House

Property: Airlie House
Address: 161 Powderham Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inclusive breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Airlie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing