We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wOwW”

Volcanoview Restaurant
Ranked #79 of 164 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: European, New Zealand, Dutch, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Volcanoview Restaurant established 26 January 2011. Friendly priced family restaurant with table service. No need to order at the bar, we come to you. Our food is healthy. Most of the dishes are gluten free, we grow our own lettuce, vegetables, capsicums, bake our own cakes, buns, bread, make our own beef/fish/veggie burger patties and all our sauces except mayonnaise and BBQ sauce. So we know that what we serve is good healthy food. Further we cater for weddings, parties, work do's, functions, funerals, you name it. Average cost for a full fledge dinner buffet is $ 37,50 per head. The funny - if you can call it funny - thing is that we are ranked 111 out of 120 restaurants in New Plymouth by the guys who manage this international web site, whilst the average review over all these years results in a rating of 4,5 stars. Well, no worry, this is the place to be for young and old. Everyone can use the free pedal carts.Three flying foxes are all located on a private property. The use of the flying foxes is at your own risk, because Volcanoview, the management and our staff cannot be held responsible for any accidents. If you stick to the rules, nothing is likely to happen. Apart from the restaurant we offer camp ground, cabin and B&B facilities. All reasonable priced and the awesome views of Mt Egmont are totally free of charge. Hope to see you soon. Kind regards, Joep & Anemoon & Kathy
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wOwW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

This was fun. Just walked in with a group of 12 and ordered of the huge menu. What a lot of choice. Service was great and so was the food. Can certainly recommend this restaurant. And the view.....awesome. Will be back soon for dinner

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    21
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just What I Needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Finding Volcano View by chance was a streak of luck for me! I had been travelling around the North Island in a camper van, sleeping in my car and eating plain old budget supermarket meals. After hiking to the summit of Mount Taranaki, I found this absolutely cozy restaurant with a prime view on the mountain to simply relax, indulge in a delicious meal and a rum-infused hot chocolate.
The owners, Joep and Anemoon, were so friendly and helpful. It was nice to connect to down-to-earth people when being so far from home on my own.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravels17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“hidden gem with a great team and awesome view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

My wife and I have eaten and been entertained by Joep here many times, We have never had a bad meal and Jeop is always happy to come and speak with you and spend time out of his busy kitchen to meet his customers. The view of the mountain is a key point in the design and construction of the restaurant and if the weather is nice you will be in for a treat! I have taken friends and family here and they have all loved it, we have also had small events here for work stuff and everyone was happy! As we are local being just down the road in Inglewood its good to have a restaurant with such a high quality of food close by, some people from New Plymouth may think its a bit far and quite a drive to get there but I can advise them its worth it so don't be scared to come out and try some dutch cooking and hospitality!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Took Mum here for Mothers days and left feeling very diappointed with the food and service.
Food was very average. Fish bites in Mums fish burger were over cooked so basicially just crumb coating. Partners pan cake was quite salty, Dads salad was great. My meal wasnt what I had ordered or what the waitress had told me I had ordered. Bit of a shame as we have had yummy pancakes here previously. But this visit was not good at all. I'd say pick your day to dine here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Catchafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“group smorgersbord”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

pleasent venue for group function 40 in group smorgersbord meal $35 per person good quality food and plenty of choice awesome deserts, clean well presented venue good value for money Staff were friendly and helpfull
would go again to this type of function there.
Only issue for me is the venue has poor acustics very noisy background could do with some form of sound deadening in the vast wooden roof.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volcanoview Restaurant also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Volcanoview Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing