We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
London
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A good place for a short stay”
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for one night part of our tour of New Zealand it is a bit off the tourist route but we wanted to drive the forgotten highway. The room was spacious and the twin double beds comfortable. There was a big bathroom with a nice powerful shower over a large spar bath.
There is little to see out of the window but the hotel is conveniently located in the centre of town. We took other reviewers advice and avoided the weekend so experienced no noise from the street.
All in all very good value for the money

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onemoreholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    81
    40
    15
    11
See reviews for
22
71
21
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
upper hutt
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The staff were very friendly and the room was very clean and nicely presented. We did not have any meals at the hotel as we were out and about alot. The only thing I felt it lacked was a swimming pool, and I also prefer a balcony which I can sit out in and soak up the sun. Thankyou for a very enjoyable stay. We had also been upgraded which was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpperHuttJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Chose to stay here so that we could use airpoints to pay. Discovered location was perfect for planned visits to concerts at Pukekura Park - 5 minute walk away ! and only one block to the main street. Staff were all friendly and helpful, executive room with separate bedroom was excellent for a 6 night stay. Very clean, nice linen.

We didn't use the restaurant or bar as we felt the prices were quite expensive compared to other places about town. But the menu did look great.

We discovered on arrival that they had basic gym facilities available, which aren't advertised on the accommodation booking sites. this was great for us, and they should use this as part of their marketing.

Only real complaints, and they are very minor, is that the parking area is quite tight and we would like to have had big flat screen TV in the lounge area.

We would definately stay here again and would certainly recommend it to others. You couldn't get a more perfect location if you are going to New Plymouth for a concert at Brooklands.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CautiousTraveller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We had booked a table at our favourite restaurant, Andre's Le Escargot and the hotel independently. To our suprise and joy, the hotel is right opposite our favourite restaurant! Stayed a Saturday night and the room was very clean. We had a king size bed in a clean and spacious room. Even a Spa bath, which we did not expect.
Breakfast was not that great, but then at 7.50 per person we got what we paid for, a cheap and cheerful breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Although service is great, standard of food is very good and the rooms are reasonably furnished be warned the Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth is not the place to stay at weekends if you are expecting to sleep. I booked in to the Copthorne Grand Central in New Plymouth for one Saturday in night.
Was initially pleasantly suprised, my room was available early in the day, reception staff were very friendly and the room was light and neat. However as evening approached first discovered my blinds would not close properly. Then around 9pm loud music suddenly started booming into the room. I contacted the Copthorne staff at 12.30am and again at 2.30am to ask if they could do something about it, The Copthorne staff said they had contacted the enviromental officers re the noise levels and had given them the names of a couple of bars they thought could be responsible - so clearly this was not the first tiem.
Silence eventually descended on the Copthorne hotel just after 3am - not eactly the restful weekend treat I had been looking for.
I would have given the Copthorne Hotel nil points but unfortunately to submit this review you have to give at least one...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pplpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tauranga
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2010

great place to stay.at $119 for bed and breakfast We couldn't fault the place.the room was very nice with spa bath in the bathroom.Breakfast was superb.location was excellent with only a few steps to the main street

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misterpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

The hotel is a labyrinth of corridors decorated in what can only be described as 'institutional' colours which I found to be depressing. Don't go here if you're claustrophobic! A full 5 minute walk from room to restaurant along corridors with so many twists and turns the notices and arrows are absolutely essential. Room is average, no particular complaints. View and outlook poor but that is what you get in a city. Breakfast excellent and all staff encountered were also excellent.
Car parking is free and convenient, part is undercover but no covered access to the hotel from here.
Lounge and bar comfortable but underused so not much atmosphere, perhaps prices are not competitive with nearby convenient bars and restaurants which results in under use.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Easternrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
233 reviews
0.4 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
218 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
1.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth

Property: Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Address: 42 Powderham Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand (Formerly Grand Central Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated for conferences, special events and holidays, right in the heart of New Plymouth City only 10 minutes from the airport and 25 minutes from magnificent Mt Taranaki and Egmont National Park. This welcoming New Plymouth Hotel is also within strolling distance of the CBD, the main shopping centre, TSB Showplace events centre, restaurants, bars and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing