We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cannot fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
tauranga
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“cannot fault it”
Reviewed May 31, 2010

great place to stay.at $119 for bed and breakfast We couldn't fault the place.the room was very nice with spa bath in the bathroom.Breakfast was superb.location was excellent with only a few steps to the main street

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misterpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    79
    39
    15
    11
See reviews for
21
71
20
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brit
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

The hotel is a labyrinth of corridors decorated in what can only be described as 'institutional' colours which I found to be depressing. Don't go here if you're claustrophobic! A full 5 minute walk from room to restaurant along corridors with so many twists and turns the notices and arrows are absolutely essential. Room is average, no particular complaints. View and outlook poor but that is what you get in a city. Breakfast excellent and all staff encountered were also excellent.
Car parking is free and convenient, part is undercover but no covered access to the hotel from here.
Lounge and bar comfortable but underused so not much atmosphere, perhaps prices are not competitive with nearby convenient bars and restaurants which results in under use.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Easternrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Plymouth hotels

auckland
2 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2010

The staff went out of their way to help us and even couriered some makeup articles back to us that my partner had left

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janterAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2010

We stayed here while planning our wedding and it was excellent. The staff were very clear about directions around New Plymouth, where our room was and were extremely friendly when we checked in and out. We only had breakfast at GCR and it was delicious - a huge choice of different food for breakfast - and prompt, friendly service from the staff - fantastic value for money.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, the room was clean and the bed was excellent - got a great nights sleep! Very quiet also due to the double windows in the room. Will be staying here when we go to New Plymouth again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmci086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2010

This hotel is NOT to be recommended. We booked the executive suite as part of a weekend to see the Cliff Richard concert. This was the only booking available so we decided that at $300 per night we would really " push the boat out". What a major disappointment. The placement of this suite means you get the full afternoon sun and with it being 29degrees outside the place was like a hothouse. This was compounded by the air con not working. when we complained we were told that because the hotel was at full capacity the aircon didnt work very well - not good enough as obviously this was well known and there was nothing that has been done. the overall standard was very shabby - paint missing on walls, unclean carpet.
the positioning of this suite ( meant to be the best in the place !!) is directly opposite a very noisy nightclub- a minimum of double glazing should be installed. and then from 3am you have all the noise from the taxi stand directly underneath.

We were given $40.00 off the price due to the air con problem - what an insult and there was only mild interest in our feedback and concern ( as if this is standard feedback and the staff just let it go over their heads). We will make sure that anyone we can tell will be told NOT to use this facility.

Fortunately the concert was great.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kawhiaTeAwamutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
168 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

I have stayed at the Copthorne Grand Central a couple of times now for business trips. Its a great hotel, clean & modern, free parking, right in the middle of the CBD and a fantastic restaurant. It has a lounge bar with a nice ambience for finishing up the work day or having a quiet drink in.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelawsons_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Staying in our room was a bit like being in a dungeon. It was very grey and the small window only allowed a small amount of natural light in.

Having said that it was clean, in good condition and had the standard items that you would expect in a hotel room so I don't have anything else to complain about.

Check in and out was friendly and efficient. We did not use any other hotel services so cannot comment on those.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnySLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
299 reviews
0.4 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
209 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
1.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth

Property: Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Address: 42 Powderham Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand (Formerly Grand Central Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated for conferences, special events and holidays, right in the heart of New Plymouth City only 10 minutes from the airport and 25 minutes from magnificent Mt Taranaki and Egmont National Park. This welcoming New Plymouth Hotel is also within strolling distance of the CBD, the main shopping centre, TSB Showplace events centre, restaurants, bars and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing