We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Nearby Hotels
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
16 Northgate Motor Lodge(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lockwood Manor Motel(New Plymouth)
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzroy Beach Motel(New Plymouth)
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Hotel Plymouth International(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pukekura Motor Lodge(New Plymouth)
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Landmark Manor Motel(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The State Hotel(New Plymouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveler rating
59
93
46
17
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
93
46
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathrabbit warrencomfortable hotelnice roomcentral locationreception staffchecking insky tvfree wificlose to shopsgood sizesea fronteasy parkinglen lye centrecentre of towngreat place to staywould stay again
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 226 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here for one night.
Friendly staff, allowed us to check in early which was nice.
Rooms were well maintained and clean, enjoyed the wide selection on bathroom essentials.
Only down about the room was that the spa bath wasn't working :(

Nice and close to down, walked in multiple times and they staff were happy to lend us an umbrella in the downpour.

The hotel itself is a maze! Multiple lifts that seem to go to floors that you don't know about until you get there! However it is pretty well signposted.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResmanagerGCH, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Hi Jennifer L

Thank your for your postitive feedback for our Hotel. We endeavour to have all facilities up and running and apologise for the spa bath not working.

Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who gave us our room number. Once we finally found our room as it is very much a rabbit warren, and I think we were one of the furtherest rooms away from reception. We found our room to be very clean and quite spacious for a hotel room. Unfortunately the vent for the restaurant was right outside our windows so the double glazing was a blessing, but we did miss not having fresh air. The restaurant meal at night was something else and can be highly recommended. Overall it was adequate for being so central to town but you were exhausted walking backwards and forwards to your room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herbies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResmanagerGCH, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Hi

Thank you for your review regarding our Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal and were greeted with warmth. The hotel can seem like a maze to our guests.

Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Very disappointing for a Copthorne hotel. The Parking was difficult, the receptionist was unable to recommend local restaurants etc, blankets on the bed where old and unclean - YUK. On the plus side the housekeeper was A+ extremely helpful and the location is perfect for access to the CBD. Unfortunately I won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Room 308 - small but view of the sea and back of the CBD. Also warmed by the sun.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResmanagerGCH, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. Sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations. As we are an inner city hotel we try and provide as many Free of Charge Carparks to our guests which can make the car park tight on some occassions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Two elderly ladies spent one night in this hotel and would never do so again. Car parking is outside with quite a steep ramp up to get into the hotel and reception. Checked in and asked for a porter for our luggage but there was no one so they gave us a large luggage trolley to get the luggage up to our room. Hard work for elderly pushing that up a ramp. Spoke to another staff member about a porter and was promptly told as we had a ground floor room that was not a luxury they ran to for the ground floor. For the price we paid we expected better service. Room was reasonable but bathroom needed a good clean top to bottom. When we left we had to ask again for a trolley and was not until we go to the door, the door to leave the lady on reception asked if we needed help and she came and took our luggage down to the car. Poor service from what is meant to be an up market hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrys1girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

the best thing here is the sea view !!(if you take the rooms with the view!) the hotel need re-decoresion !! it looks old and i think is essentiall for that.stuff is very friendly and helping a lot.the rooms are clean the location is very good and the value for money is fair enough.when i first saw the hotel reminds me hotels 20 years ago....but is clean and stuff very helpful...

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgedblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews