We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, easy to get lost!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here for one night.
Friendly staff, allowed us to check in early which was nice.
Rooms were well maintained and clean, enjoyed the wide selection on bathroom essentials.
Only down about the room was that the spa bath wasn't working :(

Nice and close to down, walked in multiple times and they staff were happy to lend us an umbrella in the downpour.

The hotel itself is a maze! Multiple lifts that seem to go to floors that you don't know about until you get there! However it is pretty well signposted.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResmanagerGCH, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Hi Jennifer L

Thank your for your postitive feedback for our Hotel. We endeavour to have all facilities up and running and apologise for the spa bath not working.

Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 205 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who gave us our room number. Once we finally found our room as it is very much a rabbit warren, and I think we were one of the furtherest rooms away from reception. We found our room to be very clean and quite spacious for a hotel room. Unfortunately the vent for the restaurant was right outside our windows so the double glazing was a blessing, but we did miss not having fresh air. The restaurant meal at night was something else and can be highly recommended. Overall it was adequate for being so central to town but you were exhausted walking backwards and forwards to your room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herbies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResmanagerGCH, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Hi

Thank you for your review regarding our Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal and were greeted with warmth. The hotel can seem like a maze to our guests.

Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Very disappointing for a Copthorne hotel. The Parking was difficult, the receptionist was unable to recommend local restaurants etc, blankets on the bed where old and unclean - YUK. On the plus side the housekeeper was A+ extremely helpful and the location is perfect for access to the CBD. Unfortunately I won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Room 308 - small but view of the sea and back of the CBD. Also warmed by the sun.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResmanagerGCH, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. Sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations. As we are an inner city hotel we try and provide as many Free of Charge Carparks to our guests which can make the car park tight on some occassions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Two elderly ladies spent one night in this hotel and would never do so again. Car parking is outside with quite a steep ramp up to get into the hotel and reception. Checked in and asked for a porter for our luggage but there was no one so they gave us a large luggage trolley to get the luggage up to our room. Hard work for elderly pushing that up a ramp. Spoke to another staff member about a porter and was promptly told as we had a ground floor room that was not a luxury they ran to for the ground floor. For the price we paid we expected better service. Room was reasonable but bathroom needed a good clean top to bottom. When we left we had to ask again for a trolley and was not until we go to the door, the door to leave the lady on reception asked if we needed help and she came and took our luggage down to the car. Poor service from what is meant to be an up market hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrys1girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

the best thing here is the sea view !!(if you take the rooms with the view!) the hotel need re-decoresion !! it looks old and i think is essentiall for that.stuff is very friendly and helping a lot.the rooms are clean the location is very good and the value for money is fair enough.when i first saw the hotel reminds me hotels 20 years ago....but is clean and stuff very helpful...

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgedblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Well located, with friendly and efficient reception staff. Finding our room was a challenge of winding corridors. One of the lifts only runs to the 2nd floor, and there appears to be no way of getting to the 3rd floor, other than descending and finding another lift or the stairs. All very strange! Our room was adequate, but situated adjacent to a heating or extract vent pipe that produced a dull roar 24 hours a day. The restaurant was good with great service and well presented food.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Landlord11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

stayed here on business for a month.And fortunately had a room on 1st Floor facing Brougham St.
It had a small room layout and big bathroom with spa.During the stay i had to relocate to room up on 2nd floor as mine had been previously booked to others and it had larger room and smaller bathroom with spa.
Biggest dissapointment was the A/Conditioning was working for first 2 days......rest of the time.....broken!!!!!! Staff did put pedestal fan in room to use,but that was little comfort.
I did use the restaurant as breakfast included daily. Evening meals were nice but found better value in eateries in town.
Used the gym.......free weights and a couple machines.....but thats it.
Staff try their best

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickoshay67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
228 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth

Address: 42 Powderham Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand (Formerly Grand Central Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range: $71 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated for conferences, special events and holidays, right in the heart of New Plymouth City only 10 minutes from the airport and 25 minutes from magnificent Mt Taranaki and Egmont National Park. This welcoming New Plymouth Hotel is also within strolling distance of the CBD, the main shopping centre, TSB Showplace events centre, restaurants, bars and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing