We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Nicest Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nice Hotel & Bistro
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This gorgeous boutique hotel is without doubt the best accommodation New Plymouth has on offer. Centrally located within minutes of the coastal walkway it is a delightful place to spend a few nights. We have stayed here,on three occasions enjoying the beautifully decorated themed rooms and the warm hospitality of the owner Terry. The Table restaurant is wonderful with an excellent menu and wine list. We found ourselves there each night sampling the delights on offer and enjoying drinks in the the deck. What a wonderful, romantic place to be - love it!

Room Tip: All the rooms and suites are themed. We like to try a different one each time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marion4john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 129 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

The titles of this property - Nice Hotel, Best Suites and Table ( the restaurant) - may have been coined tongue in cheek but the reality is something to experience. The quality of the rooms and the guest amenities, the staff and the food in Table all made us want to stay longer - and we did indeed add a second night. This boutique property is but 5 mins walk to the New Plymouth CBD and the seafront and close to the parks and historic cathedral. The owner and Manager, Terry, is mine host personified and quite a character to boot. A real gem of a place !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MedlandWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

A massive thank you to you and your staff for all you did to make Hamish and Sunita’s wedding day such a resounding success.

All our guests commented on the magnificent venue, the exquisite food and the courteous & highly professional staff. Thanks for your suggestions and guidance over the past 5 months of planning and all your efforts on the wedding day. Thanks to you, it was a remarkable 3 days and will live on in our memories forever.

Kind gestures like your constant supply of coffee, sandwiches, refreshments and restaurant space during preparation time touched our hearts and were so appreciated.

Terry, your hotel/restaurant is like no other. You have created an absolute masterpiece and infused it with warmth and elegance. We will be back for more stays and in the meantime I will recommend Table and Nice Hotel as the ultimate wedding venue to anyone who cares to listen.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prabha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We visited this restaurant and loved our evening. Meeting the owner casualy over a wine, eating excellent food and the service and athmosphere it was a great evening. The hotel decor is excellent and we had a chance of visiting the rooms which are great. The place we will stay on next visit for decor, style and ambience.
Looking forward to it

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

From the moment craig an I arrived, we felt very welcome and at home, great suite, staff and
Terry where so accommodating, we met really lovely people and hope to return when we can.

The restaurant was casual but beautiful food made you feel like you were at home with a great team in the kitchen. we had the best five days in a long time. Craig and Sue Anderson Hunter Valley Australia

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We recently had three nights in the Brooklands Suite in the Best Suites at the Nice Hotel. What a wonderful treat! The owner and staff made us feel welcome as though we were part of the Nice Hotel family and the atmosphere is relaxed and home-like. I loved the lack of a formal reception area, the feeling that I had arrived home to a wonderfully and thoughtfully appointed room (the tin of Nice Biscuits was a great touch, for example), and every need was catered for with a smile. And then there was the room - heavenly bed, beautifully decorated in a very artistic, distinctive and individual way, spa tub, parking just outside the front door, and our own garden courtyard adjoining the main hotel and restaurant. And don't miss the restaurant - we had a world class meal that you certainly wouldn't expect from a provincial town. We'll be back for a relaxing get-away weekend soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We spent a thoroughly relaxing couple of nights at the Nice Hotel, and it was an excellent spot in the centre of New Plymouth. The rooms are individual and quirky but beautifully furnished, the walls are covered in an eclectic selection of New Zealand artworks, and all the staff seem to actually enjoy working there.

There are a couple of gotchas - the road outside can be noisy, particularly once New Plymouth's boy racer fraternity get going on a Saturday night, and booking over the Internet can be spotty; it's much better to call and confirm by phone.

But the beds are excellent, the decor is about as far from a standard corporate hotel as you can get, and the place has all the charm of being invited to stay at a rich Uncle's place. Oh, and the outside courtyard (complete with decommissioned parking meter in the garden) is a delight when the sun is shining.

If you're after the full-fat depersonalised corporate hotel, this is the wrong place to stay. But if your idea of a great Sunday breakfast is to chat with the staff while they concoct whatever you feel like (without the constraints of a menu), or like the idea of a quiet snifter of brandy before bed in a tiny but perfectly-formed library - and you can just help yourself to the brandy - then this is the business. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side can be a bit noisy, but all are wonderfully comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
242 reviews
0.4 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
0.9 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Hotel & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Hotel & Bistro

Address: 71 Brougham Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range: $167 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nice Hotel & Bistro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel and restaurant offering sophisticated comfort and award-winning dining in the heart of New Plymouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Nice Hotel & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nice Hotel New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing