We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“there are other less expensive options out there”
Review of Amber Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amber Court Motel
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“there are other less expensive options out there”
Reviewed January 16, 2011

we booked a two-bedroom unit - the main room looked very cramped although it only had the queen bed and drawer in it. even though we had more than enough beds for us, i still had to pay extra for my kids.

most motels (and hotels we've been to during this week-long trip) did not charge for children as long as they use existing bedding configuration. this encourages families to get bigger units. this is something that the management can look into so that it's more family friendly.

the kitchen and shower/toilet are old-style ones. microwave and stove need updating for safety reasons. parking was pretty tight.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pin0y_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
We value all postive feed back and constructive criticism. I thank you for your postive remarks but I am confused as to why you think you should not have to pay for your children. You booked a two bedroom unit knowing how many beds there are in the rooms. Our rates are clearly marked for 1 - 2 guests?. . We incur costs for all our facilities such as heating and maintainance for our indoor heated pool, showers,electricity, laundry and housekeeping. It would be a fast track to fiancial ruin for such charity as you suggest. The microwave is on a raised bench and the stove is a free standing oven as in most homes. As for parking all but one two bedroom unit has parking directly outside, other than that we have two large car park which can accommodate large trucks and buses. For such accommodation here in New Plymouth we are very reasonably priced for what service and facilities we provide.

Amber Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    35
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
32
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Stayed here for two nights in November '10 in a 2-bedroom unit. Spacius and well equiped, but the general feel is that the place is beginning to look a bit tired.
Got fine help with trips, washing etc from hosts, but they didn't seem to take much notice about my complaints about the pricy internet connection which was available, but extremely slow.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you for your comments, we are constantly upgrading our property. We value your custom and any feedback negative or positive. We are very pleased to say we have recently changed our internet provider and are now able to offer a free and faster service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

This motel has excellent service and is a great accommodation locality.

The staff are are friendly and the room was clean, comfortable with great amenities - modern big screen TV, king size bed, warm.

The motel is walking distance to the City centre, the beach is just down the road, food places are all very handy and I would use this motel not only for business trips but family as well.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank champ1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JASPER72, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this review, June 16, 2010
Thankyou for your positive response, we hope you had a wonderful time in New Plymouth. So many customers compliment us personally but not many will take the time to comment like yourself. Again I thankyou and hope we see you again.

Carolyn Falloon

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

The city centre is only a short walk from this centrally located motel with the main street of shops and cafes about five minutes away. The rooms are well equiped even if the decor is somewhat dated (or retro!) and have everything you need for an enjoyable stay, while the complex has a communal games room and spa pool. Our hosts were friendly and helpful and were a great source of local information, in addition to entering into the spirit of a rugby test game which was the reason for our visit to New Plymouth.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balmain74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JASPER72, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this review, June 16, 2010
Thank you so much for your review. It was truly an awesome weekend, guests and rugby alike. We take great pleasure in running this motel and with a response so positive its gives us a great sense of achievment.

Kindest Regards

Carolyn Falloon & Sandy Breen
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qld
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2009

We stayed 4 days and were really very happy. The unit was like an appartment. The furnishing and ammeneties were first rate. The daily service was perfect.
The location was very good. Easy to find and close to the ocean and shops and resturants.The heated indoor pool and spa!!! The hosts were just that ....A1+++++

the heated indoor pool a

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idiot2-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2009

I stay at Amber Courts 1 -2 times during the year, I find the hosts superb - friendly & helpful, the units are spacious, clean and exceptionally tidy, it is handy being so close to the shopping centre.

  • Liked — spacious rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank joballz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

We (4 mates) have stayed here for a week in January for the last 4 years (Bowls Taranaki open mens fours) and will be staying again in January 2009. There are a few teams that stay at this time and they too come back each year. We book a 2 bedroom apartment, its all self cater. The place has a great atmosphere about it and the rooms are clean and serviced every day. Easy walk to the centre of town or a short cheap taxi ride. The staff are great, can’t do enough to help out. Highly recomend Amber Court.

  • Liked — comfortable accommodation
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snudgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
0.7 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE Abode on Courtenay Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
3.1 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
285 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fitzroy Beach Motel
Fitzroy Beach Motel
#9 of 30 in New Plymouth
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Court Motel

Property: Amber Court Motel
Address: Cnr Eliot & Leach Streets, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amber Court Motel New Plymouth is a centrally located and affordable motel. Our Taranaki motel is within walking distance to the New Plymouth CBD, Pukekura Park, Restaurants, Coastal walkway and more. Management and staff strive to give you space, comfort, cleanliness, security and exceptional service. Amber Court Motel caters for families, corporates, travellers and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amber Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing