We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amber Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amber Court Motel
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Amber Court Motel! The Staff are incredibly helpful and Friendly, the rooms are lovely and it's in a great location! Free wifi is also a bonus. Couldn't have asked for better service and the prices are great. The 50 plus sky tv channels were also appreciated. Check it out people, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanaMay83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Wow fantastic feedback thank you very much! Love to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    34
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
31
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had 3 days at Amber Court Motel and were really pleased with just about everything. We were a couple and a female friend so had a two bedroomed unit which was ideal. The beds were very comfortable, the place was clean, the kitchen was large and we had plenty of room. The staff were lovely, really friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the spa pool with lovely, fluffy towels. We didn't have a problem with wi-fi but then only used it for a short time each day to catch up with emails. The only downside was road noise which is unavoidable given that the motel is on a busy junction. Would highly recommend this motel.

Room Tip: The two bedroomed units are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Loving the amazing comments you have given us. We appreciate it. Hope to see you in the future.

Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We were given accommodation in an older part of the motel & it showed. The style was very out-dated, the furniture was uncomfortable, as were the beds & the kitchen area was old. The bathroom layout did not work; you had to twist your head sideways to even see yourself in the mirror & there was no other mirror in the unit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezzie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback we will take your comments on board.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed with my family for 2 nights. Had large 2 bedroom apartment for a decent price. Motel is in good location, easy reachable by car and just 5 minutes walk from Supermarket. Room was clean, the furniture was a little bit outdated, but for short stay no problems. Yes the WiFi access is for free, but just to use 100MB.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We will take your comments on board.

Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
108 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed just one night here, and found the room to be very comfortable, with all the amenities we needed. The wifi was a bone of contention, as it was supplied by Zenbu. As we understand it, it is all free to use, but restricted to 100MB. We had two computers, so we were given 50MB each, which ran out on both - although another 50MB was provided easily. During our month-long trip of the North Island, the only problems we ever encountered with wifi were when it was provided by Zenbu (at four motels). Zenbu might be good for the motels, but is not for the customers! Otherwise, we'd be happy to stay at this motel again, if we return to New Plymouth.

Room Tip: Quieter room are at the back - well away from the main roads
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinBut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback we have investigated the WIFI and as a result of your comments have sorted the issues we have had with ZENBU. We have stronger reception in all areas of the motel. Hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Hi,
My sister and I stayed here for 1 night at the beginning of Feb, absolutely loved it, room was clean, tidy and comfortably, had everything we needed, very close to TSB Stadium which is why we were there.
We also had the cooked breakfast which was lovely and more than enough, pool was very inviting.
Manager Gail couldn't do enough for us, lovely lovely couple who run this Motel, definitely recommend it and will stay again if we come back to New Plymouth - definitely value for money..

Thank you for a lovely stay...
The GC girl :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for an awesome review! We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Value for money hotel, based in central New Plymouth, close to eateries and shops. We had a 2 bedroom unit which was spotlessly clean and very spacious. The kids LOVED the pool which was great as it was indoors and we arrived when it was a very rainy day. My only comment would be quite noisy at night being on a main road and at a busy intersection, and also early in the morning a house being built next door woke us up quite early with power tools. Would definately stay here again though if the chance arose.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bushlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased the building next door has now been completed and things are back to normal. Hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
ASURE Abode on Courtenay Motor Inn
0.4 mi away
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
#17 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.4 mi away
BKs Egmont Motor Lodge
BKs Egmont Motor Lodge
#19 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Flamingo Motel
Flamingo Motel
#10 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Landmark Manor Motel
Landmark Manor Motel
#18 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Asure Saddle and Sulky Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Court Motel

Property: Amber Court Motel
Address: Cnr Eliot & Leach Streets, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amber Court Motel New Plymouth is a centrally located and affordable motel. Our Taranaki motel is within walking distance to the New Plymouth CBD, Pukekura Park, Restaurants, Coastal walkway and more. Management and staff strive to give you space, comfort, cleanliness, security and exceptional service. Amber Court Motel caters for families, corporates, travellers and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amber Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing