We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasent”
Review of Amber Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amber Court Motel
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights over Easter visiting friends in New Plymouth. Very good service at a fair price. Very central i.e. can walk to 3 supermarkets. Also very clean except I noticed there was some mould appearing on the shower ceiling of our unit. The only other issue I have is that their web site says "free Internet" but conditions apply. What this really means is that you get 50MB per day and can purchase additional Zenbu access for 1/2 price. This wasn't an issue for us as we didn't exceed the allocation. Indeed we were given 200MB. I suggest that what is provided is made clearer on their web site.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xlinknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Your comments are very much appreciated and we thank you for your feed back concerning the shower. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our motel and the shower in question has been addressed. 99% of guests have never purchased internet as like yourself never exceeded the 50MB per day.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here in New Plymouth and hope we see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Amber Court Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 109 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

It was very nice to return to Amber Court after being away for over a year, and this motel in our opinion is a very good place to stay at. Our unit was clean and comfortable and the hosts are always very helpful and friendly. We were upstairs for the first time and the unit we were in was a bit older perhaps than when we've stayed downstairs. But we had a very comfortable stay, and we didn't notice any noise from our neighbours or the road side. In fact we have never noticed noise in all the previous years we have stayed at Amber Court Motel. I recommend you do stay here, the motel is comfortable, clean with spacious rooms, the hosts are great, and we always enjoy staying here. Everything is handy, with restaurants etc all in close proximity.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank champ1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambercourt, relief manager/minder at Amber Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Thank you, we love seeing our guests return too. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Very comfortable and clean motel. Only stayed one night as we were travelling north but would liked to have stayed longer. Didn't notice the noise from the traffic as previously mentioned in another review. Room was large and spacious and hosts were very nice.
Motel is close to town so handy to everything. Interesting town dominated by Mt Taranaki in the distance...makes for great photo shots.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieAnn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Thank you for your valued comments, New Plymouth has so much to offer we hope to see you back another day for a longer visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

This is a tired hotel with fittings and decor than need upgrading. For the price I have seen and stayed in far better. But worst of all , it's really noisy and sits at a junction between 2 main roads. Unless you are immune to lots of traffic noise, I recommend you do not stay here. It was sufficiently bad for me to leave after a few hours and find alternative accomodation (that didn't stop the motel charging my credit card - yes, it was within the terms and conditions but acts of goodwill were not on the agenda here).

Room Tip: Even what they say is the quietest room is still very noisy.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Well you threatened that's what you would write if we didn't refund your money. As a motel we are unable to view our guests prior to arrival but you have had every opportunity to view our accommodation photos and location. I had written to you in Jan advising that our rooms are reasonably quiet ( as they are not double glazed but are constructed very well with thick glazing). I would have gladly refunded your money if your partner had not spent the afternoon in the room, used our facilities, picked you up from the airport in the early evening then decided to stay else where. I would then need to employ someone to clean the room then hopefully sell it prior to closing. Why would I not charge your card?
The most ironic thing is that as I am writing to you I have just had a customer whom stayed in the next room to yours comment how nice the motel is, he had a great sleep as he is a light sleeper.
It just goes to show you cant please every one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This motel is excellent, undergoing a paint job. Host very friendly. Room was spacious, clean and well set out. Trouble late in night with noisy neighbours but host was very quick to sort it out...excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryantandh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Friendly, comfortable and clean. Easy walking distance to town. Spacious accomodation. Indoor heated swimming pool.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

A group of 20 of us stayed here in January for a sports event. The service was wonderful - it is the only place I have stayed at in New Zealand that gives you a map of the surrounding area when you check in. It's really common in Asia but not something I have struck here before.
The rooms were spacious and spotless and they had Sky guest select which gives a much wider range of cable channels.
The loaction is excellent - very close to supermarkets and restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
ASURE Abode on Courtenay Motor Inn
0.4 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.7 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
299 on Devon West Motel
299 on Devon West Motel
#24 of 30 in New Plymouth
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
16 Northgate Motor Lodge
16 Northgate Motor Lodge
#8 of 30 in New Plymouth
191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brougham Heights Motel
Brougham Heights Motel
#15 of 30 in New Plymouth
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Court Motel

Address: Cnr Eliot & Leach Streets, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range: $93 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amber Court Motel New Plymouth is a centrally located and affordable motel. Our Taranaki motel is within walking distance to the New Plymouth CBD, Pukekura Park, Restaurants, Coastal walkway and more. Management and staff strive to give you space, comfort, cleanliness, security and exceptional service. Amber Court Motel caters for families, corporates, travellers and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amber Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing