We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its the only place to stay when you're in Taranaki”
Review of Amber Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amber Court Motel
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is the only place we stay when we come to New Plymouth. Sandy and Carolyn are so friendly and proffessional and treat you like a special guest every time you turn up. The rooms are always spotless and comfortable, with everything contained that you might need when you are away from home.

Amber Court is central to everywhere and walking distance to parks, beach, shops, racecourse, stadium etc. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Studios are great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BushMonkey11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 116 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2011

This hotel is nice and roomy. The only thing is it was very dated and could use a new shower. The staff were very friendly and willing to help with anything. If you don't mind an older looking hotel then this is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonFunlovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

We very much appreciate your comments on our service and also our rooms. As in all motels we are constantly upgrading. We have completed many rooms but unfortunatley it takes time and Im still amazed how much money. Working in hospitality and especially here at Ambercourt it is a pleasure. It is no task at all to help and guests like yourself feel welcome and point them in the right direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We stayed at the Amber Court Motel for three nights. The staff...could not have been nicer. Our room was clean and comfortable. We were able to wash the car, yes wash the car, do laundry, walk to eveything, free parking...and the staff was so nice. If there is one thing to remember, you are in the heart of New Plymouth and there is street noise. Close by are three supermarkets, a race course, beach walks, downtown. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get catch up motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We booked a studio apartment for 1 night, & after a friendly welcome at reception were directed to the room: it was on the first floor near to the main road. This gave concern for noise at night but we didn't hear a thing: no vehicle noise, or person noise.

Parking: we managed to park by the stairs up to the first floor quite easily. We noted that one of the units below was a disabled room & had a specific parking place right outside. There is plenty of parking available - you just may have to walk a short distance .

Room: 1 double & 1 single bed, 2 comfortable arm chairs, 1 footstool, flat screen TV, table & 3 chairs. Pleasant soft furnishings.

We had a really good nights sleep.

Kitchen: separate room. Surprised to find a stand-alone full size cooker (other places we stayed just had hobs & microwaves!). Well equipped with regard to crockery, pots, pans, utensils etc. Fridge was in a recess by the main room.

Bathroom: shower had a curtain which did stay inside the base & it didn't stick to our bodies as we showered. It had a mosaic tile base. Shower head was at my head height of 5'4"/1.83m, so we had to dip down to get our heads wet. Plenty of vanity space. Liquid soap, shower gel, shampoo in dispensers. Plenty of soft fresh towels.

Hairdryer provided, but apparently no electric socket provision near to any of the mirrors - finally moved the single bed away from the wall & found one to use.

Didn't use the internet - though tit to be too pricey. McDonalds across the road had free wifi.

Countdown supermarket about 100m away, garage across the road.

Drove into town & had a very substantial meal at Peggy Gordons Celtic Bar.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StrayCat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We travelled to NZ last week and stayed at this beautiful motel. I work in tourism and have travelled a lot and I have never found a place as clean as Amber Court was, The girls were fantastic our breakfast was delivered with a smile and it was hot. Keep up the good work girls it was a pleasure to stay there we will definatley stay there the next time were in NZ . Once again I can't get over how clean this motel is.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbie_smart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We were on way back home and stayed here for a break, the host made us so wlecome and could do enough for us. They picked our spirits up so much. Thanks. Easy to find, easy walk to centre of town. Accomodation for a family was great, spacious and clean. Complex was peaceful. Would always go back if passing through or staying longer. They opend the pool up for us....bigger than I had hoped, and hot. Andy T

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreacleMumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

we booked a two-bedroom unit - the main room looked very cramped although it only had the queen bed and drawer in it. even though we had more than enough beds for us, i still had to pay extra for my kids.

most motels (and hotels we've been to during this week-long trip) did not charge for children as long as they use existing bedding configuration. this encourages families to get bigger units. this is something that the management can look into so that it's more family friendly.

the kitchen and shower/toilet are old-style ones. microwave and stove need updating for safety reasons. parking was pretty tight.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pin0y_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2011

We value all postive feed back and constructive criticism. I thank you for your postive remarks but I am confused as to why you think you should not have to pay for your children. You booked a two bedroom unit knowing how many beds there are in the rooms. Our rates are clearly marked for 1 - 2 guests?. . We incur costs for all our facilities such as heating and maintainance for our indoor heated pool, showers,electricity, laundry and housekeeping. It would be a fast track to fiancial ruin for such charity as you suggest. The microwave is on a raised bench and the stove is a free standing oven as in most homes. As for parking all but one two bedroom unit has parking directly outside, other than that we have two large car park which can accommodate large trucks and buses. For such accommodation here in New Plymouth we are very reasonably priced for what service and facilities we provide.

Amber Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
#12 of 30 in New Plymouth
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE Abode on Courtenay
ASURE Abode on Courtenay
#18 of 30 in New Plymouth
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#4 of 30 in New Plymouth
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lockwood Manor Motel
Lockwood Manor Motel
#16 of 30 in New Plymouth
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Court Motel

Address: Cnr Eliot & Leach Streets, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range: $89 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amber Court Motel New Plymouth is a centrally located and affordable motel. Our Taranaki motel is within walking distance to the New Plymouth CBD, Pukekura Park, Restaurants, Coastal walkway and more. Management and staff strive to give you space, comfort, cleanliness, security and exceptional service. Amber Court Motel caters for families, corporates, travellers and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amber Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing