We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip away”
Review of Braemar Motor Inn

Braemar Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Braemar Motor Inn
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed here for three days over new year. The motel is basic but clean with three sky channels. House keeping was done every day and unit was always neat and tidy when i got back. Found wi fi to be expensive but the signal strong. Bit of a walk to the town centre but not that you would get really tired from it. Could smell the salt air of the local beach which was really nice. Bed coverings could do with updating, coffee and tea bags were well stocked in the kitchen. Microwave worked well. Stairs to upper units narrow and not good in the evenings as was quite dark when coming down. Other than a couple of small complaints this place would be a good spot to have a break inn. Reception was really helpful.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor unit due to narrow stair cases
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonasluck1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Braemar Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 66 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is a basic motel where we stayed overnight. We were in a corner upstairs room which was quite comfortable, a peep of the sea view and was nice and quiet and clean. The en suite was very small with only a sliding door separating it from the rest of the room. The location is perfect, very close to downtown shopping and dining areas, and the wonderful coastal walkway. Our stay was very short so we were unable to see all that the area had to offer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

At first we booked this place thinking its reasonably priced and that it has all the basics even though it is old and not as flash as most motor inns. What a bad decision! The beds are almost if not past their lifetime and the rooms are extremely noisy. Every toilet flush and pipeline service for the motor inn can be heard. To give you an idea of how loud some of the noises were, almost everyone staying at the motor inn came outside of their room at midnight wondering what one of the pipeline noise was. Extremely annoying. Owner of the motor inn was no where to be seen which was a shame, probably used to the noises and having a good sleep. Noises did not stop, it could be heard the whole night. There seems to be no sort of insulation at all. Will never stay here again, would rather pay more and go else where. If i did not pay up front i definitely would have checked out there and then and gone somewhere else or asked for some sort of deduction in the morning of not cancelation of all charges.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shrr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Good place to stop. Not too expensive. Good location. Staff very helpful. Everything else was booked out in town Braemar team were very helpful at short notice. Close to town. Close to coastal walkway. I believe the service provided is reflected in the price of the rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janr20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We needed a place with three single beds in (hard to find, mostly one dbl one single), They up graded us to a "Family room" one bedroom tiny kitchenette,OK for us as we were working 10-am. It was clean and quiet despite being the end closest to the road.Good value if you are on a budget. Disappointed with no soap provided even after it had been serviced on the Saturday. Visited Light show in the Park .... great for children and adults.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor if you have a mobility problem
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We booked this place online. The pictures looked very nice however when we got there it was definitely not what we expected. The room was tidy enough although there were quite a few cobwebs about. Very old styled. Noisy people in the room next door that unfortunately I had to deal with myself. Unfortunately the lady working there wasn't too welcoming or pleasant to my partner and I; we ended up going to a different Motel after one night after paying for three nights. We did lose a lot of money by doing so but were ALOT happier in the one we changed too. Definitely wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This a pleasant surprise in central New Plymouth. Very clean and warm with a small kitchen area. The room was quiet despite the motel being close to the commercial centre. Worth a stay if you are on a budget . Friendly hosts and within walking distance of the beach and the excellent Puke Ariki visitor centre and museum. We spent a lot longer in the museum than we planned.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Slowpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Egmont Eco Lodge
Egmont Eco Lodge
#26 of 30 in New Plymouth
41 reviews
0.7 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Carrington Motel
Carrington Motel
#30 of 30 in New Plymouth
65 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coronation Court Motel
Coronation Court Motel
#27 of 30 in New Plymouth
43 reviews
1.3 mi away
Asure Saddle and Sulky Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braemar Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braemar Motor Inn

Address: 152 Powderham Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range: $65 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Braemar Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Braemar Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing