We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and nice amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice location and nice amenities”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Although a tad pricey the room is fantastic, clean, comfortable and the hotel is in a great location - easy walk to town and the seaside walkway. Right next door to a nice supermarket and liquor store. The bathroom is great as the sink is separate from the bath/shower and toilet, so for two people it's functional.

We were also attending a wedding at the hotel, and it was well organized and food was of good quality. The heated pool was an awesome bonus although we did not get a chance to use it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supremehight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManager0, Owner at Quality Hotel Plymouth International, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Guest
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It is great to read your comments about the Hotel and our staff and I am pleasd you enjoyed the wedding here at the hotel .
We really appreciate you sharing your experience at The Quality Hotel Plymouth International. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Darrin Muggeridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    91
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
35
79
9
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
510 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is supposed to be a premium hotel of the Choice Hotels group and certainly the price for staying at this hotel is more than staying at 4-5 star hotel in Wellington. The rooms were pretty average and quite cold and needed a heater to warm it up. Our room was at the side of the hotel next to a car park and it was too noisy. The breakfast was quite expensive for what you got and the internet was also very expensive. All in all this motel type accommodation pretends to be something it is not. It is also not too central to the main drag of New Plymouth.

Room Tip: Choose another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eaa1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManager0, Owner at Quality Hotel Plymouth International, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Feedback is an important part of our operation and it helps us to provide a better experience for our customers.
Wireless internet is an extra charge but that is not uncommon in NZ and from my experience I would have to say we are at the lower end of the market for the service we provide.
Again thank you for taking the time to write a review.
All the best.
Darrin Muggeridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I was really impressed with the staff, the food, the room and the easy access and parking. Staying the night on a business trip, the free ironing service was a great touch. I would recommend the hotel and gladly stay their again.

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid the ground floor as the laundry seems to go 24/7 and car parking headlights beam direc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManager0, Owner at Quality Hotel Plymouth International, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Quality Hotel Plymouth International.
It was great to read your positive comments regarding the staff, food and your room and we look forward to welcoming you again when you are next visiting New Plymouth.

Thanks again and I wish you happy travels.
Darrin Muggeridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Arrived at night, and was greated by very friendly staff, even offering to iron a shirt for me tomorrow! The room is quite modern, and the bed and pillows were perfect for me. The room doesn't seem to have heating as such, but it was warm enough I guess.

Don't get a room near the lift, and probably the higher the better. All in all, a place I will come back again to. Quite impressed.

Room Tip: Away from the lift and away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joobadooba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Nice room, loved the restaurant. And a very good little swimming pool. Good access to the Coastal Walkway, highly recommend the walk to the Te Rewa Rewa Bridge.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManager0, Owner at Quality Hotel Plymouth International, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is great to read your comments about the hotel facilities and our local attractions.
We really appreciated you staying with us and thanks again for sharing your experience at the Quality Hotel Plymouth International. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Darrin Muggeridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

No air conditioning. Grumpy and not flexible about checks in for a wedding that was scheduled at their own hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManager0, Owner at Quality Hotel Plymouth International, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Feedback is an important part of our operation and it helps us to provide a better experience for our customers. I would like to invite you to contact me directly darrin@plmouth.co.nz so you are able to give me more details of your stay so that I can address the issue you have raised.
Kind regards
Darrin Muggeridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Very nice hotel & great team! have stayed here several times as well and won't stay anywhere else. The room was spotless and my conference experience was without a doubt top quality!
See you soon again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlivierNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.8 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
236 reviews
0.4 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Plymouth International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Plymouth International

Property: Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Address: Corner Courtenay & Leach Street | Private Bag 2057, New Plymouth, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Plymouth International 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Plymouth International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing