We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An asset for New Plymouth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed in a suite which was really comfortable. The hotel was fresh and modern, the restaurant excellent and the staff friendly. We'd certainly stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwitraveller099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 291 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2010

We stayed on the weekend of the Fleetwood Mac concert. We expected accommodation prices would increase but this hotel took it to the extreme. The room was tiny, the website promised sea or mountain views and all we had was a wedding party directly outside the window, you could barely move in the bathroom, it smelled of smoke when we got there (despite it being non-smoking let alone the fact that no-one should have stayed the night before seeing as we had to pay for two nights) and they charged us $230 a night and a two night minimum (when there was also a concert on the next night, for which they probably charged a two night minimum too). I'm sorry, but that is ridiculous, particularly when they have renovations going on and the rooms are more like motel units but smaller. I hope they're doing the rooms up too because I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DACKSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

I thought I had grabbed a bargain with two nights for the price of one ($230) in the "superior room" but I've stayed in nicer cabins for $40 at camping grounds. I would not recommend this accommodation to anyone wanting a holiday. The room had not been cleaned properly, and there were cobwebs and hairs throughout the bathroom, as well as marks on the walls. This may be due to the lack of room service, our room was not serviced during the 3 days we were there, we had to call reception for toilet rolls and towels. From the bath itself there was a disgusting view of the poorly cleaned inner toilet. The "spa" jets leaked black grime into the water when turned, and you have to actually get INTO the bath to access the plug or fill the kettle as the sink is too small to fit the kettle into. I would CERTAINLY NOT recommend this hotel to the elderly or for that matter anyone who wants an easy stay. On a gusty day with torrential rain the entire "off street parking" carpark and the conference car park were full of customers visiting the buffet restaurant so we had to park miles away and walk with our luggage. The back entrance (closest to the only car park we could find) has access to the main hotel only through the restaurant, so we had to carry our luggage between tables of diners which was very embarrassing. This hotel seemed very, very badly designed to me, and the rooms as well as the customers were not well cared for. I’m not a super fussy person and would have settled for a nice room and friendly service. For a $230 room you would expect a bit of luxury and great service, and this was extremely disappointing. We just wanted a nice weekend away and instead were just happy to leave this hotel at the end of it. As a final insult we were presented with a room service bill on check-out that did not belong to us. Credit to the receptionist who cancelled this, but I am yet to receive the credit card bill, so we'll see.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank summerholidayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

My fiance and I stayed at this room gifted from work as our company travels a lot and we checked out this hotel for them.

The room was clean, the "spa" still had a couple of dark hairs around the jets so we had to wash it before showering. The "spa" was big enough for a child or small teenager - but not for an adult over 5'5" say.

The bleached blonde receptionist needed to take a 'I care' pill as she most ceretainly did not. There was not much eye contact and she seemed more interested in how she twisted her hair. We didn't have luck with her or the bob'd haired girl in the morning whom were both working on 1 guest and did not pay attention to me for about 7 minutes - not even an "I'll be with you in a minute".

Our room was also near the floors entrance door which slams on closing...I recommend that if you are near this, move rooms straight away as people tend to get stuck there with luggage or just for a chit chat.

It was an ok facility with limited information about the area (see flyers on back wall under stair way in reception) and was handy to town (car).

On the other side, the Pizza joint up the road (to the right of the hotel about 3 blocks to the higher numbers in Devon Street East) was very good!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DamosasAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

The hotel is on the outskirts of town so you can walk but its a good walk. It was clean and good in theory, but we had a room at the very end of the longest corridor at the back of the hotel with no lift so had to drag our suitcases through the carpark the the entire length of the hotel with no help from reception on how to find it! That said, the room itself was nicely decorated in modern themes, a little dark but ok for a night. When we asked reception about getting into town and food the girl was nice and gave us directions and a map.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

We recently stayed at the Devon with our two young children. Upon pulling up to the hotel I was a little worried that it looked rather old and dated (and not old in a quaint way!) but we were pleasantly suprised by the nice modern bedroom which was also very large for a hotel. The room was clean and the shower had the best shower pressure of any hotel I have stayed at in a long time. The sea view was a little disappointing as the hotel is really not high enough to get a decent view. The information in the room could have been better. For example it made no mention of the breakfast in the restaurant - we just assumed they did not do breakfast. Also there was a rather tatty looking pamplet about New Plymouth in the drawer which we found out was very out of date when we went to the New Plymouth information centre and found out the mini golf course mentioned in the pamphlet had shut down. One other thing they could fix is to add a small table for your computer. They offer free broadband and supply you with a cable but the place you plug the cable in is on the opposite side of the room where the desk is so. We also dined at Marbles restaurant. I would only really recommend this to those with a large appetite for middle of the road food or to those who have young children as it is very child friendly. We did not try out the swimming pool as we were told it was very cold and we also didn't like the fact that the restaurant overlooked the pool.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineNZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2009

Stayed here to attend a wedding held at a nearby property.

The Hotel was pleasant enough - clean, tidy property, nice pool and outdoor areas. The staff were friendly and willing to help with requests promptly. They offered a range of free services including free internet access and printing, free mountain bike hire, free playstation hire. The views out over the sea were great and it was close to town.

The property was let down by a few things. There is a lack of air conditioning which especially on a hot summer's night makes the rooms quite uncomfortable. The restaurant was a quite a let down, and would not recommend dining there to anyone except for young families or kid's birthday parties. Our shower head also broke while we were there and wasn't fixed by the time we left.

My suggestion would be, for any property in New Plymouth would be to inquire if they have air conditioned rooms in the summer - from my conversation with other guests at the wedding this isn't the norm.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank IndustryBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
241 reviews
1.1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
167 reviews
1.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devon Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devon Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 390 Devon Street East, New Plymouth 4620, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range: $99 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Devon Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a wide variety of accommodation from luxurious suites with spa baths to studio units with various bed configurations sleeping up to four people. All rooms with access to the extensive Hotel amenities, including complimentary internet access, playstations, mountain bikes, gym access and a fantastic spa and pool complex. We are the home of Marbles Buffet Restaurant New Plymouth open 7 nights a week. You can relax by the fire in The Rocks Lounge with a coffee or a drink and nibbles. OUR NEW CONFERENCE CENTRE IS NOW OPEN Let our team help you organise your wedding or your next conference, function, seminar, reunion, team visit or group tour. We have the expertise, contact us now for a quote. The Devon Hotel New Plymouth is the perfect destination, we'd love to look after you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Devon Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devon Hotel And Conference Center
The Devon Hotel New Plymouth
Devon Hotel New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing