We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
NEW ZEALAND
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Location was on one of the main road into town, so easy to set out from there. Had a room
around the back, so quiet. Bed comfortable, bathroom small.andn everything supplied. but
there was NO easychair in the room so you had to lie on bed, or sit upright at the table... not very restful. There was room to of had a chair... I did enquire for one ... and the "looking into it" got no followup !
There did not appear to be any Lifts in the building for guests.? Lugged luggage up three
flights of stairs.....not impressed.
Admittedly it was school holidays, and a last minute booking.. (owing to health issues)
so I guess it was okay under the circumstances.

Room Tip: Ground floor, if no lifts....... back room ... quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAUPOKIWIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thanks for joining us. I'm sorry we didn't offer you a room with a lounge. Hope to see you back soon.
Many thanks,
Peter Tennent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    96
    48
    8
    8
See reviews for
52
82
13
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Sadly only a one night stay as this was a buisness trip. On arrival a very impressive looking hotel. Lovely welcoming lobbby Friendly staff Clean comfortable room and bed Quiet location Easy walk to town and the coastal walkway Good family buffet resturant with a nice selection of food Nice continental breakfast
I would say this would be a very family friendly hotel with nice outdoor areas, pool and bikes to guests use.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks Roger - hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
321 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Wow what an awesome hotel.

My mates and I used to stay here in the late 70's and early 80's during Telethon weekends and weekends away.

So lucky the staff has changed and did not recognise me. We even had our photo's on the celebrity board in the old foyer, sneaked in while they were not looking.

Lots of autographs given in the bar.

This time 30 years on the hotel has had a major enhancement, the pool has moved, lucklily no more dives from the first floor room.

The restaurant is fantastic and well worth a visit, make sure you can let your belt out.

The room was very clean and had everything you would want.

Staff are very friendly and helpfull.

Nice bar and lounge after a hard days work, lovely place to relax before dinner.

Will definitely be revisiting.

Thank you Hotel Devon, brought back great memories.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks Mark - great to have you back.....but we need that photo next time....and another autograph!
Cheers,
Peter Tennent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just stayed for the one night, room a little on the tight size but met all my needs and was quiet. The bed; very comfortable with a good mattress this will ensure my use of this hotel again.

Restaurant is a large buffet affair and is popular with the local families, and the waitress found me a table away from most of the bustle (I had just endured 34 hours of non-stop travel and was jet lagged & cranky so lots of children however well behaved was not for me) the drinks service was quick.

Breakfast, opened at 06:30 and had a good selection on offer.

No idea of the hotel costs as the company had prepaid for the room and food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks Paul - hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was certainly a nice surprise to walk in & stay here as I could see what The Devon was like via the web.
Nice and fairly new (the accommodation part) though my room was a bit tight but feel that could be overcome by changing the layout.
Would happy to come back with fairly basic (more family / buffet) style dinning as I would have like possibly a smaller / quite dinning area (will dine out next time).
Well done and will see me again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks Nick,
Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egersund, Norway
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Good hotel with a small Pool nice restaurant, but the room (its very easy to hear what the nabor is doing), i will be here for more then 2 weeks, so if it is not getting better i will have to move. The city of New Plymouth seems nice, and they have bikes here for you to use.

Room Tip: Weddings and fam partys in the weekends, not sure where you can sleep well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks Geir,
I'm glad the team have now found you a room that meets all your needs. It's great to have you with us at The Devon Hotel, and on this side of the world.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed at the Devon as one of around 200 people on a Suzuki Rally event. First impressions count and that certainly proved true for the Lounges, bar and general facilities of the Hotel. The hotel staff was friendly and coped well with the large influx of visitors.
Our Buffet dinner in the evening was well presented and the food and selection was enjoyable. The staff were good at servicing the tables. Three of our table had special food requirements and these were catered for and delivered at the same time as we started our buffet.
My room did not have Wi-Fi, however this was available free in the reception area.
The room was tidy and clean but was needy of a makeover. Paint chipped and faded in areas. The bathroom was of an older generation than the décor of the hotel in general. Having said that someone else told me that there room was top notch and modern décor. The room had tea and coffee making facilities and a minibar offering in the fridge.
Overall a comfortable stay and enjoyable evening

Room Tip: some ground floor rooms have ability to park car at your door
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiJohn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, and for joining us - what a fabulous group!
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
3.1 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devon Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devon Hotel & Conference Center

Property: The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 390 Devon Street East, New Plymouth 4620, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Devon Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a wide variety of accommodation from luxurious suites with spa baths to studio units with various bed configurations sleeping up to four people. All rooms with access to the extensive Hotel amenities, including complimentary internet access, playstations, mountain bikes, gym access and a fantastic spa and pool complex. We are the home of Marbles Buffet Restaurant New Plymouth open 7 nights a week. You can relax by the fire in The Rocks Lounge with a coffee or a drink and nibbles. OUR NEW CONFERENCE CENTRE IS NOW OPEN Let our team help you organise your wedding or your next conference, function, seminar, reunion, team visit or group tour. We have the expertise, contact us now for a quote. The Devon Hotel New Plymouth is the perfect destination, we'd love to look after you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Devon Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devon Hotel And Conference Center
The Devon Hotel New Plymouth
Devon Hotel New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing