We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheerful friendly”
Review of The Good Home

The Good Home
Ranked #49 of 167 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Price range: $11 - $63
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A Home away from Home ! From outside alfresco dinning to our own private front lounge, sports den, VIP area, casual dinning at its best! In The Heart of The city, easy to find, very hard to leave !! Our Good Home Family will look after all your needs , from Drinks, Snacks,Pizzas,Burgers, Pasta and Salads, and The best range of Steaks in town!! we will even can help plan what to do in Taranaki!
new plymouth
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“cheerful friendly”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Good venue, great bar, good staff, had a fixed menu and all the food was good, had some big parties there but staff coped well

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank chitake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam S, Owner at The Good Home, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hi CHITAKE

Thanks for taking the time to review the Good Home
we are only as good as our last customer, we try hard to continually improve our menus and service.
We have had a very busy Nov and Dec and very pleased you enjoyed our venue and family of staff!!
See you again Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    68
    25
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Something a bit different which was very nice”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Nice location near Puke Ariki and the wind wand. Nice outdoor area with the Huatoki Stream nearby.

I likes the way the tables were spread out, there were different areas to sit for a meal.

Menu was good, I had pizza, other three had stone grill (generous steaks).

Nice relaxed atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Youngone51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam S, Owner at The Good Home, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review The Good Home, I am very pleased you had a good time, we try and work hard to make sure everyone enjoys our HOME!!

Have a great Xmas!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“dinner out with friends”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We dined at Good Home a couple of weeks ago, with a group of 8. The service was fantastic. I had the mussell for starters, and pork for main, which where so yummy. Others at the table had stonegrill steak, which was a bit of fun. Overall we all where very happy with this meal. Well done Good Home

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam S, Owner at The Good Home, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thanks for Dinning at The Good Home, Great that you and friends enjoyed yourself, we try to make everyone feel at Home!!
Have a great Xmas !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OK place for a drink”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

OK for a drink, layout of the place is good, nice wait staff, but the food was NOT good - asked for garlic bread, received thin pizza crust with melted butter on it. Main was cold.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam S, Manager at The Good Home, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hi,
Sorry to hear your food experience wasn't what it should have been.

Kind regards

The Good Home Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Thought we would give this fairly new restaurant bar/restaurant a go but served worst salad I have ever tasted. Service was poor and staff a wee bit arrogant.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank angusgott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam S, Owner at The Good Home, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review The Good Home, your visit stated it was back in January 2012. 9 months ago? but you have just posted your review ?
We have changed not only our mangers but our menu 3 times since your visit last January, and we are due to launch our new Summer menu very soon !!!
I would love you to visit again to experience the Good Home Family, and new menu, we have come a long way since we open 12 months ago.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Good Home also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to The Good Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing