We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and dirty”
Review of Ariki Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ariki Backpackers
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Our first impression of this place was the smell. It smells of old carpet - no surprise when you see the hideous 1970s carpet and mangy old sofas around the place. Our room smelled even worse, like a hundred thousand other people had passed through in the last month. The 1950s light switches were grubby, the windows dirty and the 'wardrobe' a space with four (loose) hooks. The kitchen was a disgrace: a couple of electric-coil hobs, some of which were broken, and a poor selection of dented and burned pans. The knives were so blunt that they were dangerous. Honestly, I felt nervous walking barefoot in this place and was afraid of sleeping in the bed in case I caught something. It's a scandal that such prices are being charged for such poor quality. It's the worst standard I've seen anywhere outside of Cairo. For god's sake, give it some new carpet and a lick of paint!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Ariki Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 63 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

Friendly service, great location in center of town, beach and parking garage across the street. No A/C, room smelled of body odor, bed was noisy and club downstairs. ok for price, could be better. Looks nice from the Parking garage but once I was inside I had second thoughts.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nate82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This backpackers is heart of city. Good rooms and bed. Kitchen is clean n well equipped. But i would not recommend to stay on weekends as there is a club downstairs which mean u have to either party 3am or be sleepless !!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaustubh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here a couple of times and it is fantastic! Wonderful service, clean and tidy and best location! I would definately recommend to anyone staying in New Plymouth on a budget.
I will be going back for sure

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbro62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We only stayed here for one night but we'll definitely be going back. Firstly, we had problems with our transport meaning we would check-in after the reception closed. This was no problem. The manager waited up for us and met us outside the door. He even gave us a free drink for our troubles! The location was excellent - in the centre of town and 100m from the bus stop.
The only downsides were that it was very noisy due to the bar next door and very cold in the room as we couldn't get the heater to work. Other than that, excellent service!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C_M535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed two nights at Ariki Backpackers early last month. It is pretty much what you would expect from a hostel, but it also has some perks. I got my own toilet & shower, and they also have a cool roof patio. The best part is the location, with Puke Ariki museum right next door and the Coastal Walkway one block away. There is also a New World and many restaurants nearby. I recommend it!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank Logan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My partner and I stayed here with our two young kids (aged 8 and 9). We couldn't have found a better location, being right in the centre of New Plymouth and directly across the road from the museum. The rooms are nice and clean, the kitchen is spacious and well equipped. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The place has a good atmosphere, and we felt that the kids were also welcome. Whenever we get back to New Plymouth, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve_Lynn_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
161 reviews
1.0 mi away
Egmont Eco Lodge
Egmont Eco Lodge
#26 of 30 in New Plymouth
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
0.4 mi away
Ducks & Drakes Hotel
Ducks & Drakes Hotel
#2 of 16 in New Plymouth
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariki Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariki Backpackers

Address: 25 Ariki Street, New Plymouth, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Specialty Lodging in New Plymouth
Price Range: $38 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ariki Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ariki Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing