We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value & location”
Review of Ariki Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ariki Backpackers
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My partner and I stayed here with our two young kids (aged 8 and 9). We couldn't have found a better location, being right in the centre of New Plymouth and directly across the road from the museum. The rooms are nice and clean, the kitchen is spacious and well equipped. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The place has a good atmosphere, and we felt that the kids were also welcome. Whenever we get back to New Plymouth, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve_Lynn_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 63 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

I've stayed here more than once which is a recommendation in itself. The central location is fantastic and the roof terrace a real bonus. Sit and watch the Len Lye wind wand waving in the breeze over brekkie. Small but very adequate rooms with a shower shared between just two are also great for a backpacker. So are the free tea and coffee and very friendly owners. The restaurant downstairs has gone well upmarket since my previous visit. Great food and good service. What more could anyone want? If there is a down side, its the bar downstairs that has live music some nights. My room was fine but other guests found it noisy.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quieter than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We just walk in and got great place to stay. Rooms are clean and kitchen is spacious. Especially i love the terrace overlooking the ocean. Best place to hang around at evening and have a couple of beers :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My friend and I stayed here recently and had a good experience. We stayed in a twin room with a shared bath. The beds were clean and comfortable with all linens and towels provided. It is in an excellent location with shopping, bars, restaurants, the iSite, and the ocean nearby. Has a great deck as well. Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garyhjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

What a handy place to stay, so central and well organised. A real hidden gem! The staff are super friendly and the breakfast downstairs at the bar was yummy =D
I was got a room for myself and two friends form out of town, it only cost us $90 at the time. The double bed, bunks and own bathroom were more than adequate.
The location is absolutely right in the middle of the town, a stones throw away to the foreshore walkway, museum, art gallery, bars, cafes and centre city mall =)
We expected to pay more, ideally if it included a breakfast and or drinks combo down stairs...

Room Tip: If your room doesn't have a fan or need extra blankets - just ask, they are so accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zac_Roebuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hostel is in a great location, across the road from the Coastal Walkway, it's about 500m from the Intercity Bus stop, so really handy. The staff were friendly too.

However, the place is in need of a refurbishment, the furnishings are worn and generally need an update. It also feels like the place could do with a good clean as well. We were a bit disappointed with the place, considering the great reviews it has on here! The location marginally made up for this.

Our room/shared bathroom was clean enough though.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmp90_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Ariki is always the first option for us when we head down to New Plymouth...clean and tidy lodge, friendly service and affordabe! We came during Winter, and there was no shortage of warm blankets and heaters for each room...every bed also had a thick duvet!
Definately reccomend :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Char1i3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Egmont Eco Lodge
Egmont Eco Lodge
#26 of 30 in New Plymouth
42 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
0.5 mi away
ASURE Abode on Courtenay Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariki Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariki Backpackers

Address: 25 Ariki Street, New Plymouth, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty Lodging in New Plymouth
Price Range: $18 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ariki Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ariki Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing