We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of The Dawson Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dawson Motel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Very clean, helpful, close to city center.Was only going to stay one night but stayed two . Quiet within a couple of minutes walk to city center, restaurants, bars and water front.Will definitely be staying again when we come back

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Hi Guys
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Dawson Motel.
yes we get alot of feedback on how handy our location is close to town making it easy for walking into the CBD for a meal or drink.
Look forward to a return visit from you.

Thanks

Lloyd and Barb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 207 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

great little motel with five star rating luxury comfortable modern good size rooms king size beds very comfortable good thing though easy access to market shops and great access to coastal walk great staff and host

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bishop k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Hi
Appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel. Always great to get positive feedback and pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

Regards
Barb and Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

A modern and scrupulously clean, comfortable motel. The standard of housekeeping here would put many hospitals to shame! Convenient for access to coastal walkway and downtown area, with choice of restaurants, etc. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wdcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Hi Guys
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel. Pleased you enjoyed your stay amd have passed on your compliments regarding the housekeeping to the staff.

Thank you

regards
Barb and Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Great little family two story motel. Spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, little kitchenette and nice laundry. We did up all our clothes and didn't have to worry about having lots of change, the machines and soap were just added to our bill. Convenient to a market on the one way headed north and gas station right in the market parking lot. Warning, if you're headed over to Napier from here, the main road that goes most direct looks like a highway, but has about 17 km of gravel which may not fit your rental car contract. We'd stay in this motel again, it was a great value!

Room Tip: If your luggage is quite heavy, you might ask for a ground floor room and avoid the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncleDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Hi Guys
Appreciate the great feedback you posted about your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel.
Great to get rated the three "c" close convenient and comfortable.

Thanks
Barb and Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here last night - what a beautiful motel! Good value, spacious room, beaut TV, AC etc, spunky decor, real handy - easy walkable to restaurants, cafés, bars, shops, and the best shower I've ever tried!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Hi Guys
Appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel.
We get a lot of positive feedback on our showers and pleased you thought it was the best you had tried.

Reagrds
barb and lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

All round excellence. Great location - close to main shopping area / CBD, coastal walk & Puke Ariki.
Modern spacious well appointed spotlessly clean quite units with very comfortable beds. We had Unit 16 which was upstairs with a sea view. Friendly helpful hosts / owners - told us about "Fresha" an excellent cafe / delicatessen nearby. Suggest you book well ahead as was fully booked for the 3 nights we stayed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Hi Jim
Thanks for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel. Thrilled you enjoyed your time with us here in New Plymouth and that my recommendations were good.
We pride ourselves on our cleanless, appreicate the feedback ,thanks a heap.

Regards
Barb and Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

All very nice.
Lovely modern room with every comfort.
Owner was lovely & apologised in advance for Wi-Fi problems which were no worse than many places.
Everything worked & we walked home safely from our town centre restaurant.
Good value. Very nice

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Hi Albert
Thanks for your review on your stay with us at The Dawson Motel. Always good to get good feedback. great that we are central to CBD and this allows you to walk into town for a meal and drink.

Regards
barb and Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#9 of 30 in New Plymouth
253 reviews
1 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#4 of 30 in New Plymouth
183 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Motel

Address: 16 Dawson Street | Cbd, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range: $118 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Dawson Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in New Plymouth The Dawson Motel opened in January 2011 providing affordable luxury for our guests.Whether visiting New Plymouth for business or pleasure , The Dawson Motel is the ideal destination for those seeking comfort and superior service.Guests can enjoy stylish interiors in our 23 suites with 19 studios with a number interconnecting to give greater flexibility, two one bedroom and two two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Dawson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing