We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”
Review of The Dawson Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dawson Motel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
New York Mills, Minnesota
1 review
“lovely stay”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

great little motel with five star rating luxury comfortable modern good size rooms king size beds very comfortable good thing though easy access to market shops and great access to coastal walk great staff and host

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bishop k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hi
Appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel. Always great to get positive feedback and pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

Regards
Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    40
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
77
5
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

A modern and scrupulously clean, comfortable motel. The standard of housekeeping here would put many hospitals to shame! Convenient for access to coastal walkway and downtown area, with choice of restaurants, etc. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wdcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hi Guys
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel. Pleased you enjoyed your stay amd have passed on your compliments regarding the housekeeping to the staff.

Thank you

regards
Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Great little family two story motel. Spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, little kitchenette and nice laundry. We did up all our clothes and didn't have to worry about having lots of change, the machines and soap were just added to our bill. Convenient to a market on the one way headed north and gas station right in the market parking lot. Warning, if you're headed over to Napier from here, the main road that goes most direct looks like a highway, but has about 17 km of gravel which may not fit your rental car contract. We'd stay in this motel again, it was a great value!

Room Tip: If your luggage is quite heavy, you might ask for a ground floor room and avoid the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hi Guys
Appreciate the great feedback you posted about your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel.
Great to get rated the three "c" close convenient and comfortable.

Thanks
Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here last night - what a beautiful motel! Good value, spacious room, beaut TV, AC etc, spunky decor, real handy - easy walkable to restaurants, cafés, bars, shops, and the best shower I've ever tried!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hi Guys
Appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel.
We get a lot of positive feedback on our showers and pleased you thought it was the best you had tried.

Reagrds
barb and lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

All round excellence. Great location - close to main shopping area / CBD, coastal walk & Puke Ariki.
Modern spacious well appointed spotlessly clean quite units with very comfortable beds. We had Unit 16 which was upstairs with a sea view. Friendly helpful hosts / owners - told us about "Fresha" an excellent cafe / delicatessen nearby. Suggest you book well ahead as was fully booked for the 3 nights we stayed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hi Jim
Thanks for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel. Thrilled you enjoyed your time with us here in New Plymouth and that my recommendations were good.
We pride ourselves on our cleanless, appreicate the feedback ,thanks a heap.

Regards
Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILKLEY
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

All very nice.
Lovely modern room with every comfort.
Owner was lovely & apologised in advance for Wi-Fi problems which were no worse than many places.
Everything worked & we walked home safely from our town centre restaurant.
Good value. Very nice

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hi Albert
Thanks for your review on your stay with us at The Dawson Motel. Always good to get good feedback. great that we are central to CBD and this allows you to walk into town for a meal and drink.

Regards
barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This motel as a great find and not what we were expecting. A lovely greeting from our host who recommended the evening concert in the park which was great. The room was clean, spacious and had the fluffiest towels! Great bath with power shower over, choice of milk for the fridge and lovely big bed. The bikes were a great touch the next morning too.
Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Traffic noise can't be avoided unfortunately
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thanks guys for reviewing your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel.
Appreciate the great feedback on the bed and towels. We certainly get alot of feedback on our showers.
Hope you enjoyed your time in New Plymouth.

Regards
Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
233 reviews
0.6 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
218 reviews
3.5 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
283 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Motel

Property: The Dawson Motel
Address: 16 Dawson Street | Cbd, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Dawson Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in New Plymouth The Dawson Motel opened in January 2011 providing affordable luxury for our guests.Whether visiting New Plymouth for business or pleasure , The Dawson Motel is the ideal destination for those seeking comfort and superior service.Guests can enjoy stylish interiors in our 23 suites with 19 studios with a number interconnecting to give greater flexibility, two one bedroom and two two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Dawson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing