We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of The Dawson Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dawson Motel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Lovely new units. Well set up, very clean and tidy. The double glazing on all the windows kept The heat in and any noise out. It is at end of tow in a quiet street and easy walk to town and dining so you can leave car and not worry about need for a sober driver. The owners helpful

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hi Keith
Thank you for your review on The Dawson Motel.
We get a lot of positive comments about the effectiveness of the double glazing.
Pleased you enjoyed yor stay.

Thanks
Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    40
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
77
5
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
new zealand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We sadly had only one night in this hotel, I could not fault this spacious comfortable hotel. The owners were more than helpful and fun to deal with and more than happy to help with any query we had. Very good location handy to walks and restaurants would have no hesitation in staying here again had excellent disabled rooms. you cant go past this

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrismuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Guys

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at The Dawson Motel.
We love getting the 5/5 reviews.
Hope the rest of trip away went well and we look forward to a return visit from you guys sometime.

Thanks
barb and lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

When travelling you want a flawlessly clean room, comfortable bed and space to move. You want a spacious bathroom and shower and a functional kitchen as an option. The Dawson delivered on all of these. My partner had back surgery 2012 so a good supportive bed was a must. He slept well and commented on the quality of the bed. Service was 'top notch' and friendly. A great stay.

Room Tip: Twin room spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Guys

Thanks for taking the time to give us a great review on Trip advisor.
We really appreciate the feedback and pleased your partner found the bed good.
Hope the long trip home went well.

Regards
lloyd and Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We Stayed one night. Service was great, very friendly. Room was very good, with everything required. Comfy bed! Location is easy walk to town centre and the coast walk. Would definitely recommend and will stay again if we are ever in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rovingbikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thanks guys for writing a great review on your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel.
We get alot of good comments on the beds.
look forward to a return visit if you are ever back in New Plymouth.

Thanks

Lloyd and Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Great service very friendly and welcoming
A great location right on the edge of CBD but nice and quiet
A new modern and clean motel
Highly recommended will definitely be back staying at The Dawson when in New Plymouth

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toddmountfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hi Todd
Thanks for reviewing your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel.
Hope Sundays racing went well and we may see you back In New Plymouth.

Thanks
Lloyd and Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very friendly welcome and the rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean. No issues with anything.
No restaurant but plenty of places close by and charge back available at some, ample parking and close to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hi John
Thanks for reviewing the dawson Motel.
Pleased you enjoy your stay and hoepfully we will see you on a return visit to New Plymouth.

Regards
Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Fantastic room, very well maintained property. Very spacious room, big & comfortable bed. Came back everyday to beautifully clean room. Lovely hosts, very friendly, provided lots of information & gave recommendation as to where to visit. Great location, minutes from coastal walkway. Bikes provided at motel a plus. We stayed here for three nights, will definitely recommend to friends & family. We will definitely be staying here again when we next visit New Plymouth.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hi carol

Thanks very much for taking the time to review your stay with us here at The Dawson motel.
Sorry about the delay in replying I thought I had replies previously.
We really appreciated the bottle of wine and it was enjoyed with friends.
look forward to seeing you back in New Plymouth.

regards
barb and lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
233 reviews
0.6 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
218 reviews
3.5 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
283 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Motel

Property: The Dawson Motel
Address: 16 Dawson Street | Cbd, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Dawson Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in New Plymouth The Dawson Motel opened in January 2011 providing affordable luxury for our guests.Whether visiting New Plymouth for business or pleasure , The Dawson Motel is the ideal destination for those seeking comfort and superior service.Guests can enjoy stylish interiors in our 23 suites with 19 studios with a number interconnecting to give greater flexibility, two one bedroom and two two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Dawson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing