We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best”
Review of The Dawson Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dawson Motel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
genova
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“the best”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

i spent a lot of time in new zealand, and i used this motel 2 days before returning to italy, really the best, clean , the owner very kind and sweet with the kids, service perfec if you decided to have a brekfast no problem just vrite a paper and decided the time, frech bred jam ecc......
newspaper in the morning, parking, easy meal
in conclusion, the new zealand it's perfect place if you want to turn much you do not overspend and find value for your locations.
thx

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eveline p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Hi Guys
Thanks very much for taking the time to review The Dawson Motel. Pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope the trip home went well.

Regards
barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    40
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
77
5
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Napier
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed one night at the Dawson Motel and were very impressed. The facilities are clean and roomy. We would definitely stay again and recommend The Dawson Motel to all comers. The Motel is located a short distance from town and the coastal walkway.

Room Tip: We had a room with a separate bedroom which I always find much better for a little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bendoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Hi Guys
Thanks for your comments, thrilled you enjoyed your time with us at The Dawson Motel.

Regards
Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I have stayed at The Dawson Motel on two separate occasions, once business, and most recently whilst on vacation with friends.
Great hosts, and a superb place to stay.
Short walk to CBD, restaurants and the coastal walkway.
I plan to stay again when next in New Plymouth on business.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Hi Ian
Thanks for your comments. Great to hear you again enjoyed your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel. Look forward to having you back.

Thanks
Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Had the pleasure of staying at this motel over the weekend, it was fantastic ! The rooms are lovely, especially the gorgeous bed linen and shower.
Would def stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Hi Sandra
Thanks for your comments, thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel.
Look forward to seeing you again if you are ever back in New Plymouth

regards
Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We just returned from spending the weekend at this motel and we were very happy. We arrived in New Plymouth for a party and we hadn't booked any accommodation. We went to the visitor centre who recommended this place and booked it on our behalf. We wanted to be able to walk home from the party venue so this was ideal. The motel is conveniently located just a five minute walk from town but far enough away to not encounter any noise. The building I believe is just over a year old so was in excellent condtion and everything worked well. The bed and linen was of a good quality which is something I always appreciate. We particularly enjoyed the view of the sea from the kitchen. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Hi Margaret
Thanks for your great comments. It was lovely to meet you and we look forwarding to hosting you here on your next visit to New Plymouth

Regards
Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed 3 nights. Excellent place and location, easy walk to city and seafront, we had sea views from our kitchenette, but yes - if you are sensitive to noise there is traffic around, we weren't bothered. We were more grateful that it seemed well-insulated, no random noises from other guests...
Friendly hosts shifted us into a room with spa bath when we asked for one. Everything all new and kept very clean.
We were especially delighted that unlimited Wifi was included - not too common in NZ. It worked reasonably well for general surfing etc. Morning paper included - yay! Also a stand to connect Ipod to the TV so we had our own music, and there was a DVD player.
Appreciated that we had 2 kitchen chairs and 2 arm chairs so we could host a couple of friends and not have to sit on the bed. Lovely wine glasses, yes, - even the weather was great, sunshine every day!
Basically no faults, maybe it's the newness that oozes more cool efficiency, rather than cozy character - for example, nowhere to sit outside and relax, nor inside and enjoy a view through a window, our kitchenette window with a view was seen standing up only. So, if cozy is your focus, then maybe this is not your first choice.

Room Tip: I would request a 1st floor room to be up off the ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuMaLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thanks guys for your review, sorry I missed responding earlier. Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your feedback.

Regards
Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Came for WOMAD- could not fault this motel. We were greeted by friendly hosts, our unit was very comfortable and top of line bed, bathroom fittings and fast wi fi. We had a great weekend- location was perfect, one block from beach, able to walk to WOMAD in superb setting at TSB Bowl in the park. Very happy to recommend and will be back. We had a great weekend of superb music and a very comfortable stay. Thank you!

Room Tip: All rooms clean new and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Sumale
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at our motel. We will take your comments on board.Due to our central location we do have regular traffic, but this is helped by our double glazing in all units. We hope however that you enjoyed the ease of access to central New Plymouth

Regards
Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
233 reviews
0.6 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
218 reviews
3.5 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
283 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Motel

Property: The Dawson Motel
Address: 16 Dawson Street | Cbd, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Dawson Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in New Plymouth The Dawson Motel opened in January 2011 providing affordable luxury for our guests.Whether visiting New Plymouth for business or pleasure , The Dawson Motel is the ideal destination for those seeking comfort and superior service.Guests can enjoy stylish interiors in our 23 suites with 19 studios with a number interconnecting to give greater flexibility, two one bedroom and two two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Dawson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing