We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking out on everything”
Review of Salt Restaurant

Salt Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 171 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $25
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Looking out on everything”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Beside the information centre and Puke Ariki, overlooking Len Lye's wind wand and the cycleway, and out to sea. We asked for a window seat and got it - and watched as day became night. Fantastic service - and food - the shared dessert plate was a great way to finish.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank onerosenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback.
We hope to see you again some time soon!
Regards the Salt Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    140
    37
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Long wait, but delicious food”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked for 7.30 pm, which is a bit later than we usually eat, and so were hungry by the time we arrived. The place was busy, but didn't seem over full. Great views out to the wind wand and the sea beyond.
We were shown to our table and orders were taken. the waiter encouraged us to have a starter as he said the chef was a bit busy and there could be a delay, so we had garlic bread. This took a wee while to arrive, but that was ok. We chatted and ate our bread, and then the wait began..... the waiter did check back a couple of times with small apologies, but it ended up being a 45 minute wait for the mains. It really didn't seem to be that busy and we've been in much busier places and not had such a long wait.
Once the food arrived, it was really nice - well presented, hot and delicious. No complaints about the food at all, or the service, just the delay in getting food on the table.
We were given our drinks complementary due to the wait, but it was a disappointing experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarolynHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Hello,
Thank you very much taking the time to inform us of your concerns regarding the long wait for your food. I am very sorry you were left waiting for 45 minutes, this is to long regardless of how busy we are.
I will follow this up so we can learn from this and improve our service to customers, and ensure it does not occur again.
On a positive note we are glad you enjoyed the food once you did recieve it.
Best regards
The Waterfront Hotel and Salt team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Generous portions and fresh ingredients. Good service. Flat white coffee servings were on the small side.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dive_revive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
We are very pleased you had a great breakfast. I am not sure what size flat white you ordered. We do have 2 sizes. These being small and large. I will ensure the wait staff are asking for the sizes apon taking orders. thanks again for your feedback, appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“LOVELY FOOD AND STAFF”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

After being on the road for over 11 hours, we stumbled upon this restaurant at about 9pm on a Monday night. It was a welcome sight, as we though we might have to settle for a big mac at McDonalds, turning up this late on a Monday. But we walked in and were welcomed. We enjoyed two courses of lovely food. Service was fantastic and staff were very welcoming. It would be nice to have a meal here during the day, as obviously we missed out on any views at that time of night and the restaurant overlooks the beach. Would not hesitate going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGriswalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your valued feedback, we are thrilled you enjopyed your experience in Salt restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“go for the view”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I had read that the view from salt overlooked the water & headed here for breakfast on a sunny morning.
it was a beautiful view & there was a great outside deck to sit at to take it in - the only down side was the noisy, busy road that it also overlooked. But i should say that the inside was very tastfully fitted out & sitting inside would also give the view without having to look at or hear the traffic.
we shared a big breakfast & it was a good size & a very tasty meal - the coffee & the service was also excellent

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimba38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind review following your breakfast with us in Salt Restaurant. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Restaurant also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Salt Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing