We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Restaurant”
Review of Salt Restaurant

Salt Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 179 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $24
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Having dinner on last Sunday night. Really like the food and service here, absolutely a high standard resturaurant. Staff are very professional which one was served us on that night, he is very friendly and explain menu to us very detail. Great!!!! We will go back again. lol

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zhu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Great to hear you enjoyed your meal in Salt Restaurant, I will pass your lovely comments onto our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

436 - 440 of 495 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

I liked the food and the service here. Great views! I thought breakfast was good value and the coffee was good

1  Thank Animalsforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

We are very happy you enjoyed your breakfast with us in Salt. I will pass your comments to the Team, they will be very happy you enjoyed the enitre experience. We would love to welcome you back on day in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Waterfront: Came here for brunch with my wife over the Easter weekend. The food and service was excellent. Staff friendly, helpful and attentive. This place just goes that bit further with Luke Anderson and Chef adding a Scottish twist with menu items that included home made haggis and oatcakes: Innovative and to be commended, keep it up guys good on you. "Maybe" a bit pricey, but I thought brunch was good value; Breakfast roll. My only regret was that time in New Plymouth did permit us to have dinner here. We will do next time!! Highly recommended, top of the list.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gjc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Luke and the entire Salt team are very delighted you enjoyed your experience over Easter. Next time we release a menu we will consider our pricing. We would cetainly love to host you for dinner one day soon. Regards the Salt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The menu is interesting and complex, perhaps a bit pricey. The food is beyond New Zealand fare and has moved into the realm of that global fusion cuisine of the up-scale establishment. However, what makes this place special is the wonderful view.

1  Thank 29grapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments.We are very happy you enjoyed your experience at Salt recently. Our pricing is in line with similar establishments in New Plymouth. We hope to see you again in the near future. Best wishes from the team at Salt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Visited Salt on March 26, 2013, on the recommendation of the B&B ( 93 by the sea). The meal was the best we've had in NZ. We started with salads and then split the monk fish main. A very large portion that we could not finish. It was simply marvelous. Highly recommended.

3  Thank lomax7006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad hear you enjoyed your dining experience in Salt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Restaurant also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Salt Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing