We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food”
Review of Salt Restaurant

Salt Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 176 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $23
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I liked the food and the service here. Great views! I thought breakfast was good value and the coffee was good

1  Thank Animalsforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

We are very happy you enjoyed your breakfast with us in Salt. I will pass your comments to the Team, they will be very happy you enjoyed the enitre experience. We would love to welcome you back on day in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

429 - 433 of 487 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Waterfront: Came here for brunch with my wife over the Easter weekend. The food and service was excellent. Staff friendly, helpful and attentive. This place just goes that bit further with Luke Anderson and Chef adding a Scottish twist with menu items that included home made haggis and oatcakes: Innovative and to be commended, keep it up guys good on you. "Maybe" a bit pricey, but I thought brunch was good value; Breakfast roll. My only regret was that time in New Plymouth did permit us to have dinner here. We will do next time!! Highly recommended, top of the list.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gjc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Luke and the entire Salt team are very delighted you enjoyed your experience over Easter. Next time we release a menu we will consider our pricing. We would cetainly love to host you for dinner one day soon. Regards the Salt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The menu is interesting and complex, perhaps a bit pricey. The food is beyond New Zealand fare and has moved into the realm of that global fusion cuisine of the up-scale establishment. However, what makes this place special is the wonderful view.

1  Thank 29grapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments.We are very happy you enjoyed your experience at Salt recently. Our pricing is in line with similar establishments in New Plymouth. We hope to see you again in the near future. Best wishes from the team at Salt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Visited Salt on March 26, 2013, on the recommendation of the B&B ( 93 by the sea). The meal was the best we've had in NZ. We started with salads and then split the monk fish main. A very large portion that we could not finish. It was simply marvelous. Highly recommended.

3  Thank lomax7006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad hear you enjoyed your dining experience in Salt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Salt restaurant is located near the main shops and walkway in New Plymouth. There is also heaps of parking avaiable metred during week, but free Sundays.
Salt has amazing staff who if you end up being a regular remember what coffee you like without
you even asking. The staff are always helpful and friendly and go out of their way to accomodate any thing you may require, like sunhats, if hot on balcony, or special food for a lunch or morning tea.
The food is very good and its lovely to look out the huge windows to the sea and walkway which is just across the road.
If you dont want a meal Salt is a lovely place to just pop in and have a coffee or a glass of wine.
There is a lovely small bar which is very relaxing. Shame it wasnt a little bigger, but being small,
allows the casual feel of the bar.
Fab place to either enjoy fine dining or be casual and pop in for a coffee after a lovely walk along the walkway. The staff really go the extra mile to make you happy and feel welcome.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank karene63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write this amazing review on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate customer feedback and I will be sure to pass this onto our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Restaurant also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Salt Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing