We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic atmosphere and staff”
Review of Snug Lounge

Snug Lounge
Ranked #1 of 1 Nightlife in New Plymouth
Attraction details
1 review
“Fantastic atmosphere and staff”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Went to snug bar for a quiet meal and had a fantastic time. It is in a fantastic renovated and quite infamous pub. The interior is seriously well done but the outdoor area is even better. This is a bar with interesting food options rather than a fine dining restaurant and this probably confuses some people - it is Japanese BBQ so lots of kebabs and meat. A few traditional tapas with bread and veges wouldn't go amiss. I would like tapas like the bellota Auckland bar at snug. The service is the best I have experienced anywhere. The staff clearly love the place and when we couldn't get a taxi they drove us to our holiday stay - all the way uh Oakura. They were amazing! I highly recommend this place .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    4
    1
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Over priced under fed”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This place was highly recommended for the "Chow Down". I thought it was "all you can eat" but it was only a small platter then four more dishes - at $25 per person this was very poor value for money. The food was luke warm and only buffet quality and took ages to come. Service was ok but on a very cold night we couldn't get a table inside and the waiter didnt start the fire outside as promised, so we ended up doing it ourselves. Could be really cool, but they either need to ger realistic on their prices or their food quality and quanity. Or all of the above.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hotice26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ginamareebryant, Owner at Snug Lounge, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hi Hotice26,
Im sorry that you experience at Snug didnt live up to your expectations. Our Chow Down (All You Can Eat Yakitori) Menu is really popular and it does pay to book a table if you are wanting to sit somewhere specific, the food is all cooked to order, so on busy nights there can sometimes be a delay between courses. Our wait staff do their best to inform diners that its not an ideal dinner choice if you are on a strict time frame - but great if youre in for a relaxed evening out and keen to enjoy shared plates of food while youre chatting with friends!
Next time you visit NP please give us a call and book a table, we would love the opportunity to host you again.
Thanks, Gina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Had a very enjoyable evening with friends at Snug Lounge, first time visit, I was very impressed, cant wait to go back again, have made a booking for this coming week :) Had the chow down for $20, very delish! cant wait to try the cocktails :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kirsten85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Snug as”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Chowdown is good and unreal value - as a peskyterian (fish / shellfish) I probably had 10 salmon skewers, tempura prawns, squid etc for $20. And could've kept on eating. It's not gourmet teppanyaki like Kura or Kens but it's perfectly fine.

Surroundings are a treat. Lots of cushioned couch type things, a fireplace. Snug as.

Front of house is kind of weird - they had an inexplicable fear of hunting out a primo spot for you. Or even risking being seen to be helpful. Incredibly, both nights I was here, with two different front of houses - seems to be a strange company policy that really needs addressing. But the table staff are great and friendly and fun.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michaeltbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“*** FULL AS A SUMO WRESTLER !!! ***”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Amazing time! Awsome service, divine food, very fat n happy right now ... could not fault the place. The staff were so freindly and helpful. We sat out in the courtyard for dinner next to the open fireplace ... purrrfect night :o)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Smileyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snug Lounge also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Snug Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing