We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food & great service”
Review of Elixir Cafe

Elixir Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Elixir Cafe -your daily fix. Every morning our muffins, cakes and biscuits are made fresh for you by our trained bakers and taste tested by our front of house staff. Our dedicated baristas are committed to coffee greatness were only the very best coffee is served. Our kitchen where possible uses fair trade, locally sourced, sustainable and free range products. Our qualified chefs have an all consuming passion for food, using a simple combination of fresh ingredients, providing you with an experience of home away from home.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food & great service”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

I have been to Elixer a few times, the food & service a has been great every time. They also make great coffee & great coffee is not easy to find!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    58
    16
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
“you will be happy with your choice”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Have visited several times, it had a wide ranging menu lots of options for lunch and breakfast, mushrooms and corn fritters are great. Just had the of grilled portobello mushrooms and roasted vegetable salad last week was very impressed. Also has a toy basket if you have little ones.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lulu-wini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
178 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Relaxed, casual dining with excellent service. However the best bit was the delicious food. The pasta was as good if not better as any eaten anywhere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nakitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“YUMMY AS”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

we decided to go into this café on the recommendation of our hotel staff. YUMMMMMMMMY. breakfast there is a whole new thing. My husband had mince on toast....Yeah Right you say, how can that be that neat. You should have seen it. it came out in a stack with a poached egg on top. the place was packed. Not surprising really. Service was excellent and the place had a really novel aspect to it, with cutlery coming out in a golden syrup container. I have never had porridge as lovely as that and the presentation for all meals served there was great. Thanks for a lovely meal and chat.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“good breakfast and coffee”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I often meet others here due to its location and recommend the cafe if someone is looking for a good place to do the same - Ive had a few short business meetings and even conducted some interviews for a position we advertised from here as its a good atmosphere with good staff. I usually dine here during the morning for the breakfasts, and I always order the same breakfast as its a good value meal to start the day, the quality of the food and consistency is excellent. Not forgetting the coffee - they make a good brew as they use ozone beans which are always nice wherever you get them from and roasted locally so its hard to disappoint! Only downside is the cafe is quite small, so anything larger than a group of about 4 people could be difficult for them to accommodate space wise.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elixir Cafe also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Elixir Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing