We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“299 On Devon West Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
299 on Devon West Motel
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Cambridge, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“299 On Devon West Motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We loved staying in 299. Our room was so warm with heating and also underfloor heating - luxurious. The room was very clean and the bed was so comfortable. There was even comlimentry chocolate & fruit. A café just down the road and walking distance to Yarrow Stadium & handy to the city centre. Very friendly hosts. will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ondevonwest, Owner at 299 on Devon West Motel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for writing such a lovely review.
It is always gives a great pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay at 299 motel.
Great you were able to spend time at cafe' at the corner, Yarrow Stadium (Yay The All Black's) and the City Centre as well.
We do look forward to having you stay another time, all the best :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
15
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

A wonderful place to stay with lovely hosts. Absolutely clean, well maintained and very welcoming.
Absolutely highly recommend 299 if you are looking to stay in New Plymouth.
Easy access to main attractions and working distance to the seaside walkway.

Room Tip: All rooms a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peteri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ondevonwest, Owner at 299 on Devon West Motel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and staying at 299.
We really enjoy presenting our units to the highest level to make them homely for our guests. Its always great to hear you have enjoyed your time with us and recommend to others.
We do have wonderful things to see and do in New Plymouth/Naki and the Coastal Walkway is wonderful for everyone to use :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

When hubby and I checked in we were not told about the pool, where is it. As for the shower screen, rather dangerous, unless you are alert, I grabbed onto it to get in the shower and it swung away from me, yes I am getting old but someone older could have had a nasty accident. No where to put your soap etc, side rails in the shower or a warning about the screen.would be nice. Other than that lovely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank possom004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ondevonwest, Owner at 299 on Devon West Motel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Sorry we missed telling you about our pool, private courtyard and BBQ.
The shower door over the bath swings both ways to allow guests to bath or shower however we are working on a solution.
Look forward to seeing you another time if in New Plymouth, happy travels :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikanae, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed for two nights and it was great. very quiet and so clean. The pool was a bit cold. Easy parking and everything was in our room that we could need. They supplied a cot for our 8mo that saved us a lot of hassle. Thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ondevonwest, Owner at 299 on Devon West Motel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Glad the portacot was helpful for you and sorry you found the pool to be cold :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Have stayed here before very comfortable. As we are travelling on motorcycles it suits us well as they are safe out of sight and right outside the room. Laundry facilities are good too. A little bit away from the centre of town for walking, but very quiet. Nice for the price

Room Tip: Swimming pool available. If you want to swim ask for a downstairs room that faces the pool then you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenslandMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ondevonwest, Owner at 299 on Devon West Motel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
It was great to see you again and pleased that the off street parking and laundry was helpful for you. Hope the rest of your trip went well. Thanks for your wonderful review :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson NZ
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here a night earlier this week. A very good motel by any standards. Impeccably kept - inside and out. Very tidy and very clean. Good fixtures and fittings. Everything worked well. Quiet and restful in the back rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room - the road noise might be louder in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed for two nights with our three children. The motel was so clean! The cleanest place we stayed on our trip. The staff was really friendly and helpful. They gave us a bunch of great recommendations of things to do while we were in town. Great location, great people, great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roaming_with_my_boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.0 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.6 mi away
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
#17 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.2 mi away
Landmark Manor Motel
Landmark Manor Motel
#18 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Flamingo Motel
Flamingo Motel
#10 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dawson Motel
The Dawson Motel
#4 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel New Plymouth
Bella Vista Motel New Plymouth
#22 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 299 on Devon West Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 299 on Devon West Motel

Property: 299 on Devon West Motel
Address: 299 Devon Street West, New Plymouth, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 299 on Devon West Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Vision: to provide a homely experience that you will remember enjoy and want to have again as well as tell others about. Spacious self contained units with kitchen and bathroom with underfloor heating, heated towel rail, LCD TV, DVD, ceiling fan, WiFi/Broadband. Private courtyard with BBQ, outdoor swimming pool, swing ball and off street parking, covered outdoor clothes line. Close to City Centre, Coastal Walkway, Len Lye Art Centre, TSB ShowPlace, Govett Brewster Art Gallery, Yarrows Statium, Hospitals, Aquatic Centre and Port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 299 on Devon West Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing