We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly welcome, great facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
299 on Devon West Motel
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Surrey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome, great facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

The motel is located about a 10 minute walk from the edge of the town centre.

The service offered by Gary & Lorna is very good and they make you feel at home. Our room was on the ground floor with a patio door at the rear of the room opening onto the garden area where the pool is located. On the patio is a table and two chairs.

The room is a good size and tastefully decorated. The bathroom contains a shower cubicle with a glass door. The room is equipped with a kitchenette.

We ordered the continental breakfast from the motel which was more than enough for our needs.

The motel has a guest laundry which is free to use but they do make a small charge for the tumble drier should you care to use it.

We would stay here again if in the area and would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iantravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
15
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

the woman at reception was rude and unhelpful. Was not friendly at all, think it was the owner. As other places were fully booked if one was available we would of changed in a heart beat. Milk was already in fridge even though we were walk ins, dont know how long it had been in there for. The fruit basket had apples rotting. The traffic noise was terrible.
Will not return and will certainly advise others not too book there also.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ondevonwest, Owner at 299 on Devon West Motel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
We are very upset you feel this way, it is a shame you did not come and tell us during your stay that you were so unhappy.
We have always given 299 Motel our heart and soul and treated it like it is our home for the last 8 years and have never had such a comment made like yours.
* the milk has a best by date on it and is always fresh.
* the fruit is compilmentry and we apologise if we missed a piece of bad friut.
* we pride ourselves on the cleaniness of our units and our 4 star plus rating by Qualmark supports that.
* yes we are on a main road but have whisper glass to filter out the road noise.
* being rude is just not in our nature, we have always been known to be welcoming friendly and helpful.
We are very proud of our Motel and New Plymouth/Taranaki and would have helped you in anyway possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Roskill;Auckland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

An older style property but exceptionally maintained. A Large and comfortable unit. Quality bed linen and towels. Unexpected touches like the free use of bikes, free newspaper a welcoming fruit bowl and nightly choc's on the pillows!! The owners were very welcoming and gave us great hints on what to do in the region. Traffic noise could be a problem for some but they offer earplugs if you need them. We will return!! Thankyou.

Room Tip: request a downstairs room, probably less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 808cojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ondevonwest, Owner at 299 on Devon West Motel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments.
It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

The rooms are very comfortable and very clean, modern and nicely decorated. We had a room with a bath at the back and unfortunately it has a view into the flats next door, but we love the underfloor heating and the lovely little touch like a fruit bowl complete with licorice chocolate!! Even so, it was a very quiet unit with no road noise. There are plenty of restaurants further into town but none close by. We have stayed here a couple of times now and always get a nice welcome.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ondevonwest, Owner at 299 on Devon West Motel, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Thank you for kind words about 299 Motel, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and our homely touches made it a more comfortable stay. We look forward to seeing you another time. All the Best, Gary, Lorna and Kareena :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
284 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

This a small Motel on one of the main roads into New Plymouth, a small but pleasent town. It is within walking distance of the town along the coastal walkway.Takes 20 mins, no restaurants close by but plenty in the town. (Try Salt on the front.) It is on a small plot with about 10 rooms on two floors. Get a ground level room which have a small communal patio to sit out and access to a grassed area, a barbeque site and small pool ( too cold to swim in for most ).Pleasent spacious rooms with good size shower room. Breakfast to the room and friendly owners.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.0 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.6 mi away
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
#17 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.2 mi away
Landmark Manor Motel
Landmark Manor Motel
#18 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Flamingo Motel
Flamingo Motel
#11 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dawson Motel
The Dawson Motel
#4 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel New Plymouth
Bella Vista Motel New Plymouth
#22 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 299 on Devon West Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 299 on Devon West Motel

Property: 299 on Devon West Motel
Address: 299 Devon Street West, New Plymouth, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 299 on Devon West Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Vision: to provide a homely experience that you will remember enjoy and want to have again as well as tell others about. Spacious self contained units with kitchen and bathroom with underfloor heating, heated towel rail, LCD TV, DVD, ceiling fan, WiFi/Broadband. Private courtyard with BBQ, outdoor swimming pool, swing ball and off street parking, covered outdoor clothes line. Close to City Centre, Coastal Walkway, Len Lye Art Centre, TSB ShowPlace, Govett Brewster Art Gallery, Yarrows Statium, Hospitals, Aquatic Centre and Port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 299 on Devon West Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing